Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2008, 06:56 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 143
Default Windows XP 64 bit

Hey, I am still trying to decide between 32 bit and 64 bit windows XP (not vista).

Quoted from the highly accurate Wikipedia(/sarcasm):

"As of June 2008, Microsoft does not plan to release any further service packs for Windows Server 2003 and consequently, for Windows XP Professional x64 Edition. [24] [25] Service Packs for 32-bit (x86) editions of Windows XP are not compatible with Windows XP x64 Edition."

This means that they are stuck on SP2. Is this a problem?

If I use 64 bit xp, will i have compatability problems? Is it really worth it? How much benifit is it really?

I will be using an e3110 CPU.

I am leaning towards xp pro 32 bit.. because I know it works, and it is tried and true.

How much benifit will I see switching to XP 64 bit for my new build? Is it worth the hassle? Mainly a gaming/multimedia rig. May start folding, if I find out what folding actually does to my computer.

Speedy replies earn bonus points!!!

Cheers,

Dan
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2008, 07:00 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

I run XP x64 with no troubles at all.

What you have to understand about the SP2 for x64 is basically the SP3 equiv of 32bit.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2008, 07:24 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,221

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
I run XP x64 with no troubles at all.

What you have to understand about the SP2 for x64 is basically the SP3 equiv of 32bit.
Still running 32bit version of XP and VISTA - I currently have no use for 64bit as I'm not running 64bit apps or games, so IMO I think it is pointless to switch from 32bit to 64bit just yet unless you have 4GB or more of RAM but then there is only so much a 32bit app can use at once (2GB).

Adding to the OP's original question I was always curious to know how does XP64 handle 32bit games compared to the 32bit OS - Some say it runs faster and better others say it runs slower. How does it run for you ?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2008, 09:21 PM
Patriote's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,167
Default

Don't waste your time with XP 64bit... Now, if you plan on running 4GB of ram then go for 64bit. Otherwise, don't waste your time. Lots of compatibility issues on games, programs. Even iTunes is not compatible with XP 64bit...

I am planning on doing a dual boot soon. One Raptor 150GB for XP 32bit and stuck with 2.93GB reconize on XP 32bit since i have 4GB of RAM and the other Raptor 150GB for Vista X64.
__________________
• - Asus P8Z68-V PRO
• - Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz (for now)
• - Asus Geforce 580GTX DirectCUII Fermi
• - 16GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile
• - Ultra X3 1000 Watt
• - Asus Xonar DX 7.1 \ Klipsch Promedia 2.1 THX
• - Corsair Vengeance 1300 Gaming Headset
• - Crucial M4 SSD 128GB \ WD Caviar Black 1TB
• - CoolerMaster 690II Advanced
• - Dell UltraSharp 24''
• - Noctua NH-D14
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2008, 09:22 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patriote View Post
Don't waste your time with XP 64bit... Now, if you plan on running 4GB of ram then go for 64bit. Otherwise, don't waste your time. Lots of compatibility issues on games, programs. Even iTunes is not compatible with XP 64bit...

I am planning on doing a dual boot soon. One Raptor 150GB for XP 32bit and stuck with 2.93GB reconize on XP 32bit since i have 4GB of RAM and the other Raptor 150GB for Vista X64.
Excuse me? Have you ran XP x64? Because I run it and have had 0 issues with gaming at all.

iTunes has issues with Vista 64bit as well so your point is moot.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2008, 09:55 PM
Andy's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Taichung / Toronto
Posts: 657

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patriote View Post
Don't waste your time with XP 64bit... Now, if you plan on running 4GB of ram then go for 64bit. Otherwise, don't waste your time. Lots of compatibility issues on games, programs. Even iTunes is not compatible with XP 64bit...

I am planning on doing a dual boot soon. One Raptor 150GB for XP 32bit and stuck with 2.93GB reconize on XP 32bit since i have 4GB of RAM and the other Raptor 150GB for Vista X64.

Yah this is WRONG.

I' currently on Vista 64, but I ran XP 64, for two years prior. The only issue I ever encountered was being unable to patch MSN (since been fixed). Seriously not a big deal lol.

If you have 4Gb of RAM, and aren't using ancient hardware, there is no reason not to be using 64 bit. Just check for drivers before hand, and if they are all available, switch.
__________________
SAGER 5165 - Matte Screen (1920x1080) - i7-2630QM - nVidia 555M - 8Gb DDR3 - 120Gb Corsair Force GT SSD - 500Gb Momentus XT - Intelฎ 6300
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2008, 05:33 AM
Nodscene's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 920
Default

I'm on XP 64 also and basically have no issues with any software or hardware.

And seriously, who uses iTunes when there are better programs out there that don't mess up your system :)
__________________

Create something idiot proof and they will make a better idiot.
_____________________________________

Intel Q6600 - Gigabyte EP35-DS4 - OCZ Reaper 4gig PC2-6400 - XFX 8800GT 512Mb Alpha Dog - AuzenTech X-Fi Prelude - Alesis M1Active MK2 - Corsair HX-620 - Silverstone Temjin TJ05B-X - Scythe Katana 2 - WD Raptor 150Gb - Seagate 7200.11 750Gb x2 - Samsung SH-S203N
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 13, 2008, 10:14 PM
Patriote's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,167
Default

Calm down guys. Personally, my games (Old games like Max Payne which i love to go throught over and over...) won't run on XP 64bit nor will it do on Vista. I use iTunes since i am forced to to be able to transfer songs on my Ipods. But i know there is an online cheat to get it installed on XP 64bit...

I don't have any issues at all with other and more recents games tho... Not a single ones. I even have less BSOD (Or not a single one actually) than Vista X64...

Basically XP64bit is good depending on what you'll be doing on it.

I was just pointing that out. It might of sounded wrong a bit...

But Yeah, been running XP 64bit since a few months already.

Next thing to do is Dual boot XP 32bit for my older games and such and Vista X64 for DX10 games...

Just my 2 cents.

PS: I never encountered a single compatibility issue with iTunes and Vista X64.
__________________
• - Asus P8Z68-V PRO
• - Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz (for now)
• - Asus Geforce 580GTX DirectCUII Fermi
• - 16GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile
• - Ultra X3 1000 Watt
• - Asus Xonar DX 7.1 \ Klipsch Promedia 2.1 THX
• - Corsair Vengeance 1300 Gaming Headset
• - Crucial M4 SSD 128GB \ WD Caviar Black 1TB
• - CoolerMaster 690II Advanced
• - Dell UltraSharp 24''
• - Noctua NH-D14
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2008, 06:22 AM
Nodscene's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 920
Default

Actually there are quite a few programs that will transfer songs to an iPod. You don't need to be saddled with iTunes, unless of course you like it. Media Monkey is a great little app that frankly runs circles around itunes. It also has better support for extremely large music collections.
MediaMonkey Free Media Jukebox, Music Manager, CD Ripper & Converter
__________________

Create something idiot proof and they will make a better idiot.
_____________________________________

Intel Q6600 - Gigabyte EP35-DS4 - OCZ Reaper 4gig PC2-6400 - XFX 8800GT 512Mb Alpha Dog - AuzenTech X-Fi Prelude - Alesis M1Active MK2 - Corsair HX-620 - Silverstone Temjin TJ05B-X - Scythe Katana 2 - WD Raptor 150Gb - Seagate 7200.11 750Gb x2 - Samsung SH-S203N
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2008, 10:47 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,283

My System Specs

Default

XPx64 is a great OS what it is basically is server 2003 x 64 only with more options there are no issues at all with any games or software that I have used so it is worth getting then if you want it took look like vista there are software packages out there that make it look and feel just like vista x64 only with out all the hassles and process's running
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: Windows XP Pro tgraszat14 Buy/Sell & Trade 1 July 23, 2008 02:05 PM
WTB: Windows XP PRO Legit tgraszat14 Buy/Sell & Trade 0 June 20, 2008 09:49 AM
windows xp to vista? Bdog454 Video Cards 4 June 14, 2008 06:37 AM
A windows 2k question... Mysteryous O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 November 10, 2007 11:57 AM