Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2008, 09:26 AM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

Ugh...I guess I'll have to reinstall them then, because I can't see it in either Basic or Advanced.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2008, 09:41 AM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

Alrighty, I reinstalled and it's still not showing up anywhere...wtf is going on?

Is it for Vista only?

Last edited by bojangles; December 12, 2008 at 09:48 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2008, 09:51 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,711
Default

Use this guide:

AMD Customer Care
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2008, 09:55 AM
freaked's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Moncton, NB
Posts: 84

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bojangles View Post
Umm...does anyone have the AVIVO Video Converter on their machine? For some reason mine never got installed with the driver release...why didn't it?
it's a separate dl... look under 'Optional Downloads:' from where you got the 8.12 drivers from AMD


8-12_xp32-64_xcode_72274.exe 1.30 MB
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2008, 09:57 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,711
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by freaked View Post
it's a separate dl... look under 'Optional Downloads:' from where you got the 8.12 drivers from AMD
The main Catalyst Software Suite download has it. At least it did when I downloaded it...
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2008, 10:07 AM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

Does AVIVO Works for you ? (8.12 finall) - Page 2 - Guru3D.com Forums

Looks like even other people are having the same issue. However, the AVIVO Package on the ATI website is quite old and still converts using the old method and not taking advantage of the 4800 series. Maybe my nVidia motherboard is smart and wants me to make the move to them? I don't know for sure, but this is really ticking me off.

SKY I went to that link awhile ago, I'll show you a screenshot. It doesn't show the Video Converter there at all.

Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2008, 10:14 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,711
Default

Interesting.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2008, 10:18 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Going a little OT: Sky does this have noticeable advantages over previous versions ?
Guess you just did a big review on the games/video cards, so thought you would know for sure. :)
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2008, 11:45 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,226

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
Nice to see a Folding @ Home app included.
Looks like it just plops a link on your desktop to an ATI-branded Systray client. I tried it out, and got my usual "Nonzero force sum on GPU" + UNSTABLE_MACHINE. Obviously I cannot comment on change in PPD :(
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2008, 12:10 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,711
Default

Just got some info re: AVIVO decoder. High CPU usage is normal.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Catalyst 8.7 Eldonko O/S's, Drivers & General Software 41 July 30, 2008 11:43 AM
Catalyst 8.6 cadaveca O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 June 20, 2008 09:25 AM
Catalyst 8.3 is out Cptn Vortex O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 March 18, 2008 09:23 PM
Catalyst 7.12 Available kingnubian Video Cards 0 December 20, 2007 10:06 PM
Catalyst 7.2 SHaCK Press Releases & Tech News 0 February 22, 2007 06:52 AM