Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2008, 06:51 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,481

My System Specs

Default Vista SP2 Beta?

I'm not currently running Vista on anything, but there might be some brave souls who are interested in this......

http://download.microsoft.com/downlo...1SP2.0_DVD.iso

Supposedly in DVD iso format (1.2GB), and completely untested so use at your own discretion.... :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2008, 07:23 AM
mattlef's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 1,977

My System Specs

Default

hmmmm,
I wonder what they have done..... i'm off to do research considering my work is so completely dead.

----
I'm not even going to bother with testing it out. MS is saying there will be some security and performance ugrades, but I doubt there will be anything in the pack that will make me want to take part in Beta testing.
__________________
Co-Host of the Dam Good Show

My Rig: Motivation 2.0
----------------
Build log - Motivation: Sponsored by Galaxy and Corsair
---------------
Check out the HardwareCanucks Youtube Channel for News/Reviews and more!
Instagram Twitter

Last edited by mattlef; December 6, 2008 at 07:28 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2008, 08:46 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

I've never had any trouble with any MS Beta's. They are basically RTM's that have been tested on most common hardware, but not all.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2008, 12:40 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,221

My System Specs

Default

It's mostly new featuers than any performance or fix - however SP2 does include all the fixes, updates, etc, since the beginning. If you already have SP1, you can get those additional fixes individually - it's best to wait for the final and not upgrade for extra features unless you will u se them.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes