Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2008, 07:51 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 15,625

My System Specs

Default Vista SP2 Beta?

I'm not currently running Vista on anything, but there might be some brave souls who are interested in this......


Supposedly in DVD iso format (1.2GB), and completely untested so use at your own discretion.... :)
Gigabyte Z97N-WIFI / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 970 SSC ACX 2.0+
Corsair 380T / Corsair H100i GTX AIO/ Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 24" Westinghouse L2410NM
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2008, 08:23 AM
mattlef's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 1,979

My System Specs


I wonder what they have done..... i'm off to do research considering my work is so completely dead.

I'm not even going to bother with testing it out. MS is saying there will be some security and performance ugrades, but I doubt there will be anything in the pack that will make me want to take part in Beta testing.
Co-Host of the Dam Good Show

My Rig: Motivation 2.0
Build log - Motivation: Sponsored by Galaxy and Corsair
Check out the HardwareCanucks Youtube Channel for News/Reviews and more!
Instagram Twitter

Last edited by mattlef; December 6, 2008 at 08:28 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2008, 09:46 AM
"Quote This..."
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,857

I've never had any trouble with any MS Beta's. They are basically RTM's that have been tested on most common hardware, but not all.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2008, 01:40 PM
Hall Of Fame
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,221

My System Specs


It's mostly new featuers than any performance or fix - however SP2 does include all the fixes, updates, etc, since the beginning. If you already have SP1, you can get those additional fixes individually - it's best to wait for the final and not upgrade for extra features unless you will u se them.
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes