Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2008, 10:35 AM
howpet's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Peterborough On
Posts: 255

My System Specs

Default Firewall

Is the firewall included with Vista ok or should a person use a third party option eg. Norton,Eset,Kaspersky?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2008, 10:45 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Hi and welcome to the forum! No software firewall is a replacement for a hardware firewall in your router- If that's set up properly, I wouldn't bother paying for a third person software firewall.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2008, 10:53 AM
howpet's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Peterborough On
Posts: 255

My System Specs

Default

Hi and thxs for having me. Will use the included firewall + an anti-virus. Thxs for reply.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2008, 07:37 PM
NyteOwl's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 905
Default

I disagree. Most basic home router firewalls are minimalist at best. To get truly efficient firewalling takes either a few bucks or a bit of time in setup. Mind you I'de never allow Norton near a machine of mine and while Vista's firewall is arguably better than XP's that's not saying a lot.
__________________
Obsolescence is just a lack of imagination.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2008, 08:36 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,639
Default

Hardware Router > Software

with that said.. yes Vistas is perfectly fine.

If you want something a bit more advanced use Comodo
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes