Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2008, 07:08 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 143
Default 64 bit necessary with a dual core?

I have the option to get a performance-modded (all unnecessary proccesses stopped, or something to that effect) xp 32 bit, or I can wait an extra two or so weeks for a regular 64bit xp. I am getting an e7200 in the new rig I am building, as well as probably in the next 6 months upgrading from 2 gigs of ram to 4 gigs.


What do you think? Primarily gaming rig. Should I go for the 64 bit, even if it will take a bit longer? Is it worth the wait? Does xp really work well in 64 bit? Are there different drivers I will need, and are they hard to find? Will I be loosing that ~500mb if I go 32bit (3.5gigs showing), and will that make a HUGE difference?

Looking for future-proof-ish ideas.

Thanks guys :)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2008, 09:52 PM
misterlarry's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Woodlands, Texas
Posts: 1,356

My System Specs

Default

Welcome to HWC D4ng3r! When I built my rig back in May of this year, I bought XP 64 bit because I wasn't sure what Viata was like at that time and I figured that software would eventually start really making use of a 64 bit OS. I'm just about to go to 8 GB of ram, so I don't know yet if there is a true advantage at this time.

I've always had the Binford 9000 (Home Improvements) state of mind though and figure that the more ram, horsepower, torque, balls, guts, etc. the better.

I really haven't had too many problems with XP 64. It won't play some older games (Sacred & Brothers in Arms), and you can't currently use Dragon "Naturally Speaking" (voice recognition software). Other than that XP 64 has worked flawlessly for me, but that is only my experience. Keep listening on the board here and I'm sure that you will get some qualified opinions.


__________________
Asrock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 - Intel i5 2550K @ 3.4 GHz - Corsair H80 CPU Cooler- 4x4 GB G.Skill Ares DDR3 1600 - EVGA GTX560 Ti
1x120 GB Mushkin Chronos Enhanced SSD - 1x500 GB Seagate Hybrid Momentus - 2x500 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 - Pioneer DVR-212D - Antec P182 - Corsair TX650 - 22" Hanns-G - Windows 7 Pro 64 SP1



The world is your oyster. Shuck away my friend, shuck away!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2008, 01:14 AM
1Tanker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by D4ng3r View Post
I have the option to get a performance-modded (all unnecessary proccesses stopped, or something to that effect) xp 32 bit, or I can wait an extra two or so weeks for a regular 64bit xp. I am getting an e7200 in the new rig I am building, as well as probably in the next 6 months upgrading from 2 gigs of ram to 4 gigs.


What do you think? Primarily gaming rig. Should I go for the 64 bit, even if it will take a bit longer? Is it worth the wait? Does xp really work well in 64 bit? Are there different drivers I will need, and are they hard to find? Will I be loosing that ~500mb if I go 32bit (3.5gigs showing), and will that make a HUGE difference?

Looking for future-proof-ish ideas.

Thanks guys :)
Either go with XP-32 or Vista-64. Although i don't have XP-64, i've read nothing but bad reviews/problems with it...especially compared to Vista-64. The ~500MB lost to a 32bit OS won't have much negative affect. If you're going for future-proof, you might as well go Vista Home Premium. GL
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2008, 01:42 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,573
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1Tanker View Post
Either go with XP-32 or Vista-64. Although i don't have XP-64, i've read nothing but bad reviews/problems with it...especially compared to Vista-64. The ~500MB lost to a 32bit OS won't have much negative affect. If you're going for future-proof, you might as well go Vista Home Premium. GL
XP 64 is perfectly fine. Most reviews are very biased and misguided. I run XP 64 and its perfectly fine.

But no you do not need a 64bit OS to use most cpus
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2008, 03:41 AM
1Tanker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
XP 64 is perfectly fine. Most reviews are very biased and misguided. I run XP 64 and its perfectly fine.

But no you do not need a 64bit OS to use most cpus
Which OS would you suggest he get?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2008, 10:44 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,573
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1Tanker View Post
Which OS would you suggest he get?
Do you need to ask that? Everyone knows where I stand around here
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2008, 11:39 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Terrace, BC
Posts: 558
Default

To use the extra power of core 2 64 bit cpu, use a UNIX OS LoL ....
Or Vista 64
__________________
Acer 5920G ( Stock Air ) no OC:P
At least its DX10!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2008, 11:43 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,573
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tazer-[X] View Post
To use the extra power of core 2 64 bit cpu, use a UNIX OS LoL ....
Or Vista 64
Or XP 64
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2008, 12:45 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Belleville, Ontario
Posts: 559
Default

Vista 64 hands down, the porformance versions of xp give you like 5% more fps in games if that and seriously degrade the os experience outside of gaming. With that kind of a rig vista should be what you go with anyways trust me, it takes some adjusting but once you get used to it xp seems like crap. My main hdd died awhile age so i installed xp again just for fun, i had more crashes in 3 days than i had in vista in over a year. NEedless to say i uninstalled it and installed the far more stable and reliable vista x64.
__________________
Case: HAF 932
CPU: AMD Phenom II 940 3.5ghz w/ OCZ Vendetta 2 Cooler
PSU: OCZ StealthXstream 600w
Mobo: ASUS M3A79-T Deluxe
Memory: 4gb OCZ Platinum 1000mhz ddr2
Graphics: 2x Sapphire 4830s in Crossfire
Keyboard: Logitech G11
Mouse: Logitech G9
HD:WD 640gb Caviar Black + 750gb Seagate
#hardwarecanucks on irc.enterthegame.com
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2008, 02:08 PM
1Tanker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonwall View Post
Vista 64 hands down, the porformance versions of xp give you like 5% more fps in games if that and seriously degrade the os experience outside of gaming. With that kind of a rig vista should be what you go with anyways trust me, it takes some adjusting but once you get used to it xp seems like crap. My main hdd died awhile age so i installed xp again just for fun, i had more crashes in 3 days than i had in vista in over a year. NEedless to say i uninstalled it and installed the far more stable and reliable vista x64.
I never get crashes/BSODs in XP-Pro...unless it's from very over-zealous overclocking.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes