Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2008, 07:13 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 16
Default

Well, my new rig is going to be geared for gaming. CPU will be at least an E8600, but most likely be a 9650 or higher. GPU will either be a 4870x2 or GTX 280 Motherboard is going to be an ASUS Rampage Extreme. So i believe everything will allow 64bit. Would it be worth installing Vista as 64bit now or should I stick with the 34bit install? Like I said, this rig will mostly be used for gaming.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2008, 07:16 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cndian View Post
Well, my new rig is going to be geared for gaming. CPU will be at least an E8600, but most likely be a 9650 or higher. GPU will either be a 4870x2 or GTX 280 Motherboard is going to be an ASUS Rampage Extreme. So i believe everything will allow 64bit. Would it be worth installing Vista as 64bit now or should I stick with the 34bit install? Like I said, this rig will mostly be used for gaming.
Just get 32bit.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2008, 08:04 PM
DK2 DK2 is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GTA
Posts: 821
Default

I would disagree enaberif, if it’s a new system just get 64bit, its going to change
someday soon, the problem is when? When it does change, everything will be 64bit.
Getting 64bit covers you both ways.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2008, 08:18 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DK2 View Post
I would disagree enaberif, if itís a new system just get 64bit, its going to change
someday soon, the problem is when? When it does change, everything will be 64bit.
Getting 64bit covers you both ways.
And I disagree with you.

64bit mainstream isn't going to happen anytime soon.

Only reason why people are running 4gh or more of memory is simply cost.

As the old saying goes.. if you have to ask you don't need it.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2008, 09:07 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,221

My System Specs

Default

Eventually there is going to be a limit as to what you can do with 32bit - as games get more agressive and memory requirements get bigger, the move to 64bit might be sooner than you think! A 32bit OS can only address 2GB of RAM at once (meaning application or games). So what happens when you start to see huge textures, and graphics cards with 1 GB and 2 GB :) soon your graphics card might have just as much or more RAM than your system RAM :) I'm even worried about the x86 architecture, I mean I think we've almost reached its limits and I don't know for how long are chip makers going to keep with the x86 architecture, which has a limited life, and will eventually end soon, the same way Win9x has ended and people moved on to an OS that can support more than 1GB of RAM :D
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2008, 02:57 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Terrace, BC
Posts: 558
Default

I disagree with your both:P 64 bit has been mainstream for YEARS. Just not with the little boys. And besides, 64 bit can run 32 bit LoL. Tink logically, 64 bit will hit the drive LESS for ram cache:P It can address the whole 4 GB or more, load the ENTRIRE map into cache, reload levels faster, get killed faster LoL
And still run 32 bit apps when not gaming
__________________
Acer 5920G ( Stock Air ) no OC:P
At least its DX10!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2008, 05:58 AM
DK2 DK2 is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GTA
Posts: 821
Default

I could swear half of my post is missing, hmmm, another thread maybe, or just crazy. :)
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2008, 11:52 AM
nam's Avatar
nam nam is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: manchester
Posts: 38
Default

vista 64 is the one to get if you have 4gb as 64bit makes use of all ram .unlike 32bit

Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2008, 11:56 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,833
Default

If you are going to run vista then get 64 bit. It's not my main os but I have yet to have any problems with it.

That said, I do all my gaming in xp 32. still faster and smoother than vista 32 or 64.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2008, 08:16 AM
486's Avatar
486 486 is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 398

My System Specs

Default

Easy choice. If you want 32-bit system, then stick with Windows XP. If you after 64-bit one, then Vista 64 is your choice. Vista 32-bit is useless, especially for gaming.
__________________
Silverstone TJ-08E
Seasonic X-660
Asus P8Z77-M Pro
Intel i7-3770
Kingstone HyperX 2 x 8GB
Crucial M4 256GB + 128 GB
Sapphire Radeon HD7970
Nec Multisync LCD2690WUXI
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes