Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2008, 12:51 AM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default your win xp x64 experience

i use to x64 for almost 1 month and i really dont see any difference from my old win xp sp3...

x64 have too many disadvantages (almost same for vista)...

huge disadantages;

- not many softwares are for x64... esspecially old softwares and goodies...
- have to install both x64 and x86...
- hmmm i cant think of more...

so what is your solution... [if you have 4gb or more ram...] are you upgrade to vista or go back to xp x86 again? or live with it... eh...?

i believe x64 is not ready until all x86 is disconnected... so it will make everything more easier...


i also think about to try vista (or even x64 << probably huge different than xp x84) because i believe everything is changing compare to last year... isn't it..?


ps. i hate "three words or more" seach rule ;[
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2008, 12:54 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

are you kidding?

haha I've been running xp x64 for over a year.. name something that doesn't work in it?

Code:
huge disadantages;

- not many softwares are for x64... esspecially old softwares and goodies...
- have to install both x64 and x86...
- hmmm i cant think of more...
1) Same applies for Vista; 99% of stuff is not 64bit and is only 32bit
2) No you don't; 32bit works fine in 64bit
3) Of course not you haven't made a good argument.

Oh and Catalogue of 64-bit Software
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2008, 01:14 AM
Jon_di2's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 895
Default

I'm dual booting Vista 64 and XPx86, and I'm finding that I'm not even using XP anymore. Everything works fine under Vista 64 as far as I've found. Haven't ever used XP 64 but I'm assuming software would be fine for the most part. Some games might not work out so well.

But the only main concern I would have in 64 bit environments is Driver support. But if your hardware has driver support in XP 64, then its all good!
__________________
EVGA780i FTW|Q9450@3.3|2x2GB Mushkin Redline 8000|GTX 260 Core 216 65nm|Corsair TX750|Antec 900|Acer 22|Antec Multimedia Premier|WD 640GB|Seagate 500GB|Logitech G15|Vista64
EVGA790i FTW|E8400@4.1|4x1GB Aeneon Xtune DDR3-1866|2xGTX 260 55nm|CM 750W| CM690|Viewsonic 25.5|Seagate 500GBx2|Logitech G5|Razer Lycosa|Scythe Kaze Master 5.25|Win7 & XP
Dell XPS M170|Pentium M @2.00|2GB DDR2 @667MHz|Nvidia GeForce Go 7800 GTX|120GB|17" WUXGA|XP32
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2008, 07:50 AM
misterlarry's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Woodlands, Texas
Posts: 1,356

My System Specs

Default

The only thing that I've found that wouldn't run was Sacred when I tried to install it. Also there is no Flash written for 64 bit yet, so I usually use the 32 bit IE or Firefox. Great OS IMHO.

__________________
Asrock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 - Intel i5 2550K @ 3.4 GHz - Corsair H80 CPU Cooler- 4x4 GB G.Skill Ares DDR3 1600 - EVGA GTX560 Ti
1x120 GB Mushkin Chronos Enhanced SSD - 1x500 GB Seagate Hybrid Momentus - 2x500 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 - Pioneer DVR-212D - Antec P182 - Corsair TX650 - 22" Hanns-G - Windows 7 Pro 64 SP1



The world is your oyster. Shuck away my friend, shuck away!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2008, 12:47 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Terrace, BC
Posts: 558
Default

Thing of it is, there has been 64 bit OS around for a very long time. Just MS was [laying on 8086 chips when ther big boys were doing mainframes and slim terminals. I hope they can learn fast enough, coz, it looks like Sun, HP, IBM, and even Cray are starting to make linux run everything.
__________________
Acer 5920G ( Stock Air ) no OC:P
At least its DX10!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2008, 03:10 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,973

My System Specs

Default

I used XP 64-bit for probably a good year, and not once did I have a problem with it. There wasn't a single application that I used that I had problems installing/running. Except for the PowerToy applications. My experience was phenomenal. It just felt so much snappier than 32-bit XP.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2008, 03:54 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

i see... i see...

some softwares, like happy unistall directx, nod32 suite, etc cant be installing...

jon dr2... too bad.. i hope you can tell me about compare of x64 and vista64... yes i have all x64 drivers supported...
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2008, 03:56 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CTA View Post
i see... i see...

some softwares, like happy unistall directx, nod32 suite, etc cant be installing...

jon dr2... too bad.. i hope you can tell me about compare of x64 and vista64... yes i have all x64 drivers supported...
Umm directx installs fine as does nod32.. again what are you talking about?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2008, 04:05 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

Welcome to Superfoxs.com

Firewall, Antivirus, Antispam: ESET Smart Security Has It All

can't be installing (not supported) on x64...


there are also some softwares too...
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2008, 04:06 PM
BT!'s Avatar
BT! BT! is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Muskoka
Posts: 854
Default

i'm running Vista Ultimate 64bit and haven't had any issues so far.. i personally like vista better and i believe alot of the haters probably haven't even used it before. lol :)
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes