Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2008, 03:50 AM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Whyalla, South Australia
Posts: 1
Default Problem with Windows Installer Service on Vista

Hi everyone, I have recently had to reinstall Vista Home Premium on my system. All the updates have completed succesfully, programmes reinstalled etc. No big deal untill I tried to install some new software and now get the message 'The Windows Installer Servive could not be accessed. This can occur if the Windows Instller is not correctly installed. Contact you support personnel for assistance'. :rtfm:I have done numerous google searches to try to rectify this problem but am unable. Could someone tell me where WIS is located so that I can remove it and reload it or does anyone know how to fix such a problem. I thought that I could work most things out for myself untill this one hit the system. :help: Cheers. Jakkel from Australia
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2008, 08:34 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,830
Default

Download and install the latest installer for vista, 4.0
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2008, 09:20 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,999

My System Specs

Default

You may also want to check that the service is still enabled. I know its services.msc in XP but I'm not sure if it's the same in Vista. Either way, make sure the service is running (some programs I've seen can disable services during their installation and "forget" to start them again afterwards). Hope it helps!
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes