Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2008, 05:57 PM
Phobia's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 1,150
Default Home Server

Hey guys got a quick question for all of you. I want to set up my own server for hosting files, and maybe a website or two. Is XP ok to use? i've got it installed on my "server" pc which i just finished. Are there any programs i should use? I've never made a server before, so i've got no clue of what im doing software wise.. i've got the HW down but thats it
__________________
(whitty saying to be plagiarized at a later date)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2008, 06:07 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,727
Default

I use XP no problems on my storage server. Hums along for months on end no need for re-boots
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2008, 06:21 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Are you using XP Pro Vortex, are you using some special software to host the server ?
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2008, 06:24 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,727
Default

XP Pro. Then i just share my drives over the network and allow all users to change my files. On my Desktop and notebook, I just create desktop icons leading to the drives in my server. Its exactly like the drives are in my computer and laptop. Very easy
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2008, 06:49 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cptn Vortex View Post
XP Pro. Then i just share my drives over the network and allow all users to change my files. On my Desktop and notebook, I just create desktop icons leading to the drives in my server. Its exactly like the drives are in my computer and laptop. Very easy
Do you use a workgroup to share files to the desky and lappy ? Because if you do that, then I do the same.
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2008, 07:56 PM
Phobia's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 1,150
Default

ok, but what about hosting stuff for websites if i wanted?
__________________
(whitty saying to be plagiarized at a later date)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2008, 08:21 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,910

My System Specs

Default

Checkout XAMPP: apache friends - xampp

Basically its a pre-packaged and configured Apache, MySQL, PHP, FTP server. Rather simple to setup and get running.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2008, 10:28 PM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

And make sure you use protection. ie, firewall and up to date anti-virus
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 27, 2008, 02:50 AM
Jack Rabbit's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 784

My System Specs

Default

I would not expose an XP based computer to the Internet. Bad people regularly search for them and break in to steal what they can or use it as a spam/malware gateway. There are plenty of free options for a small website where dealing with the OS is SEP.
__________________
He either fears his fate too much, or his deserts are small, that dares not put it to the touch, to gain or lose it all.
- James Graham
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 27, 2008, 07:25 AM
bushwhacker's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Lake of the Woods
Posts: 286
Default caution ... too bad!

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrom17 View Post
Checkout XAMPP: apache friends - xampp

Basically its a pre-packaged and configured Apache, MySQL, PHP, FTP server. Rather simple to setup and get running.

This looked like a great option until I read:
The philosophy

The philosophy behind XAMPP is to build an easy to install distribution for developers to get into the world of Apache. To make it convenient for developers XAMPP is configured with all features turned on. The default configuration is not good from a securtiy point of view and it's not secure enough for a production environment - please don't use XAMPP in such environment.



----------------------------------------------------

my take:
- configuring Apache can be a bit of a pita but the defaults are set for a secure working environment. (if I have to learn how to secure XAMPP's Apache configuration ... yuk)
- Filezilla server can be had separately (which is what XAMPP is using).
- there are many 'extras' included in XAMPP that may not be necessary for many users.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes