Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2008, 05:15 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: OH, USA
Posts: 93
Default Ubuntu not booting

I just built a new computer. I ran memtest and a hard drive test on it, and passed all. I downloaded and made an install disk for Ubuntu 8.04 64-bit. I installed it using the guided setup without any errors. Now when I boot up my computer, however, it goes through all the normal startup bios stuff, then goes to a black screen with an entry cursor and stays there. What is going on, and what can I do?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2008, 05:19 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,796

My System Specs

Default

Did you use the DVD iso or the CD iso? I had major problems with the DVD install ISO, but the CD one installed without any issues at all.

Did you try the live cd to ensure that your hardware is compatable with Ubuntu?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2008, 05:21 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: OH, USA
Posts: 93
Default

I used the cd iso, and I I ran the live cd first. it worked fine.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2008, 05:36 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,796

My System Specs

Default

Not sure what to say then.... check your HDD settings in bios, and after that... if it were me, I'd try to re-install it rather than trying to figure out how to fix an install.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2008, 05:49 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

at the boot prompt:

Code:
boot noacpi <enter>
thats it.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2008, 09:14 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: OH, USA
Posts: 93
Default

I'll give that a try, enaberif. If it does work, will I have to do that every time?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2008, 09:51 PM
NyteOwl's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 905
Default

no, you can add it to the bootloader's config file soi it's done automatically.
__________________
Obsolescence is just a lack of imagination.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2008, 10:10 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: OH, USA
Posts: 93
Default

Ok, . . another Ubuntu question. Can I install it with RAID 0? I had my hard drives set up in RAID 0 the first time, but it still made me choose one of the hard drives . . whats going on there?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2008, 10:37 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

It should detect the RAID setup automatically. Check the disk size when it asks you.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 27, 2008, 12:03 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: OH, USA
Posts: 93
Default

Ok . . . I unplugged my 2nd hard drive, reset my BIOS to the default settings, and tried to install from the Ubuntu 8.04 cd. It goes to a screen with a progress bar that goes back and forth. After doing this for a while, it shows up with the following text on a black screen:

[integer here] Buffer I/O error on device fd0, logical block 0

From what I read, this refers to the floppy drive, which I don't have. What can I do to fix this? I just want to get an OS installed so I can use my new computer . . .
__________________
Case: NZXT Tempest PSU: Corsair TX750 Mobo: Asus P5Q Pro CPU: Intel Q9550 Cooler: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro RAM: 4 GB OCZ DDR2-800 Video: Visiontek HD 4870 (790/1100) HDD: 2x WD 500 GB in RAID 0 Optical: LG Blu-Ray/DVD Burner combo
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes