Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2008, 05:36 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5
Question Will I be able to OC my CPU to 3.6Ghz?

Here's my build: http://img176.imageshack.us/img176/4741/ncixopal8.png

If the answer is no or if I'm just bordering yes, I am willing to spend extra money to upgrade the cpu fan, in which case, I would appreciate a suggestion. I have no brand preferences when is comes to cooling.

I will be ordering from NCIX (Canada), and will order it as soon as I have this question sorted out and receive my paycheck
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2008, 05:49 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,605
Default

maybe.. maybe not.

depends on on fussy that processor is.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2008, 05:59 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5
Default

So you're saying that the cooling will be adequate? That's really my biggest concern...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2008, 06:01 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,605
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XsundayX View Post
So you're saying that the cooling will be adequate? That's really my biggest concern...
Has nothing to do with the cooling it has everything to do with the chip. You may only be able to get 3, 3.2 or 3.3 out of it. Not every cpu overclocks as good as another.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2008, 06:04 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5
Default

ah, Well I've seen a benchmark where the chip was oc'd to 3.6, so I know the card can get there
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2008, 06:05 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,605
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XsundayX View Post
ah, Well I've seen a benchmark where the chip was oc'd to 3.6, so I know the card can get there


That's what I'm saying. Just because one does doesn't mean another will.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2008, 06:10 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5
Default

oh, I didn't realize the OCing was so tricky... maybe I should just go with the dual core intel 3.16 chip and save myself the hassle.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2008, 06:14 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,727
Default

Yeah, just because you "should" get 3.6 does not mean you will. It depends on your chip, and your overclocking knowledge. You *Should be able to get 3.6
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2008, 06:17 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,644

My System Specs

Default

Save you what? The "hassle"? You either oc, or you don't. Trying, failing, adjusting and making it happen is the name of the game.

I had 5 Q6600. All 5 made it to 3.6 Ghz, but only one under air - all others where under water cooling. Some took more volts than others. The only way to know is to try it.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2008, 06:28 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5
Default

That's just it, I don't want to be taking a chance with my computer and then having to buy another chip because the one I received doesn't perform as well as I wanted it to or realizing that the specific chip that I got will need more powerful cooling than I had anticipated (to me, that's a hassle)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes