Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2008, 04:54 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 27
Default

Wow, thanks for all the suggestions guys. Now I have a lot of reading up to do . Dwayne I think at this point I'd rather buy new.

Couple questions come to mind:
Would two EVGA 8800GT's work just as well as say a single GTX 260 or 280?
Also what is the max amount of RAM the p5q Pro supports?
Are Mushkin and Seagate the brand names of the day for RAM and HDD?

Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2008, 05:08 AM
Jon_di2's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 895
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aficionado View Post
Wow, thanks for all the suggestions guys. Now I have a lot of reading up to do . Dwayne I think at this point I'd rather buy new.

Couple questions come to mind:
Would two EVGA 8800GT's work just as well as say a single GTX 260 or 280?
Also what is the max amount of RAM the p5q Pro supports?
Are Mushkin and Seagate the brand names of the day for RAM and HDD?
You might have SLI issues with 2 EVGA 8800GT's and you would need a motherboard that supports SLI, while with one GTX 260 or GTX 280 you would not need a SLI mobo... but as far as FPS is concerned 2 8800GT's would be better then a GTX 260, but not as good as a GTX 280.

It supports 8 gigs

Mushkin is, along with a couple others, but you can't go wrong with Mushkin. Western Digital seems to be the brand name of the day for HD's though, specifically their 640GB HD. But Seagate is good too.
__________________
EVGA780i FTW|Q9450@3.3|2x2GB Mushkin Redline 8000|GTX 260 Core 216 65nm|Corsair TX750|Antec 900|Acer 22|Antec Multimedia Premier|WD 640GB|Seagate 500GB|Logitech G15|Vista64
EVGA790i FTW|E8400@4.1|4x1GB Aeneon Xtune DDR3-1866|2xGTX 260 55nm|CM 750W| CM690|Viewsonic 25.5|Seagate 500GBx2|Logitech G5|Razer Lycosa|Scythe Kaze Master 5.25|Win7 & XP
Dell XPS M170|Pentium M @2.00|2GB DDR2 @667MHz|Nvidia GeForce Go 7800 GTX|120GB|17" WUXGA|XP32
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2008, 06:02 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 27
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon_di2 View Post
You might have SLI issues with 2 EVGA 8800GT's and you would need a motherboard that supports SLI, while with one GTX 260 or GTX 280 you would not need a SLI mobo... but as far as FPS is concerned 2 8800GT's would be better then a GTX 260, but not as good as a GTX 280.

It supports 8 gigs

Mushkin is, along with a couple others, but you can't go wrong with Mushkin. Western Digital seems to be the brand name of the day for HD's though, specifically their 640GB HD. But Seagate is good too.
Thanks for the info Jon. Been going through the process of price matching on NCIX and have a few more questions.
I see the p5q pro does not support SLI, got any recommendations for a comparable (in price and quality) mobo that does support SLI?

Also, while reading a review of the GTX's I noticed they don't support DirectX 10.1...is that a big deal?

I glimpsed something about needing microsoft vista 64 bit to take advantage of more than 3GB's of RAM (not really sure what this was referring to, any idea?) Just curious cause I would rather stay with XP but if Vista is required for newer and future games than I'll go with it.

Cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2008, 06:32 AM
yamawho's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rosemere, Qc, Canada
Posts: 860
Default

Intel chipsets don't support SLI so you will need to go with an Nvidia chipset however ...
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2008, 06:38 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

Don't worry about SLI its not worth it anymore.

The cost and time is the same if you bought 1 high end card.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2008, 06:55 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 27
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Don't worry about SLI its not worth it anymore.

The cost and time is the same if you bought 1 high end card.
Ah ok. Guess I'm looking at a GTX card then.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2008, 09:39 AM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

Below is a build that I made for you with a SPVA panel 24" LCD monitor for just over $1800. I realize that this is over your budget, BUT, these prices are regular prices and without mail-in-rebates. Also, getting a premier partnership at NCIX might save money on this setup (this is a maybe because I don't have one so I don't know exactly how it works). VIP would also be a good idea for ExpresRMA, again from NCIX. I also left the pixel coverage empty, but it's really only $30 to add this coverage that could save you a lot of money in the end ifyou get the bad end of the stick.

I'm sure you could price match some of this much lower so remember this price might be more than golden for you hehe.

Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2008, 09:49 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,830
Default

Don't scrimp on the monitor!

Its what you look at all day.

And it will last you through several builds.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2008, 09:49 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 27
Default

Thanks a lot for taking the time Bo.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2008, 09:50 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 27
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squeetard View Post
Don't scrimp on the monitor!

Its what you look at all day.

And it will last you through several builds.
Is a 24" monitor scrimping?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes