Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2008, 10:14 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Hamilton Ont
Posts: 19
Default Power requirement question

Hi,

I am putting together a new build and wonder if I will have enough power with my existing Corsair 620 Modular PSU, I have had it about 18 months and it is amazing but the system it was running had a 7600gt in it.

My specs will be:

Q9550
Asus P5Q Deluxe
Mushkin Ascent 2x2gb
1x320 Seagate
2x640 WD
5x500 WD
2 DVD Drives
1 Fan Controller
1 X-fi Platinum
3x80mm Fans
1x120mm Fans

Now the question mark... 1 GTX 280

Thanks for your thoughts.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2008, 10:27 PM
andynerd's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 365
Default

it may work http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/25...r-requirements

Last edited by andynerd; August 3, 2008 at 10:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2008, 10:41 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,141

My System Specs

Default

Try this power calculator, add at least 100w for headroom. You don't want your PSU maxed out all the time.

eXtreme Power Supply Calculator Lite v2.5
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2008, 10:42 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Starkness View Post
Hi,

I am putting together a new build and wonder if I will have enough power with my existing Corsair 620 Modular PSU, I have had it about 18 months and it is amazing but the system it was running had a 7600gt in it.

My specs will be:

Q9550
Asus P5Q Deluxe
Mushkin Ascent 2x2gb
1x320 Seagate
2x640 WD
5x500 WD
2 DVD Drives
1 Fan Controller
1 X-fi Platinum
3x80mm Fans
1x120mm Fans

Now the question mark... 1 GTX 280

Thanks for your thoughts.
Personally you should be ok but to be on the safe side I'd say 700w minimum.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2008, 11:17 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 268
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Starkness View Post
Hi,

I am putting together a new build and wonder if I will have enough power with my existing Corsair 620 Modular PSU, I have had it about 18 months and it is amazing but the system it was running had a 7600gt in it.

My specs will be:

Q9550
Asus P5Q Deluxe
Mushkin Ascent 2x2gb
1x320 Seagate
2x640 WD
5x500 WD
2 DVD Drives
1 Fan Controller
1 X-fi Platinum
3x80mm Fans
1x120mm Fans

Now the question mark... 1 GTX 280

Thanks for your thoughts.
More than enough.

See the system in my sig? HX520 power it all no probs.

Add an HD 3870 X2 to that i ran for a bit, or the two different GTX 280s.

And mine's 100w & 10a on the +12v less too.
__________________
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R | i7 930 | Corsair H50
G.Skill RipJaws 4x2 GB DDR3 | HIS Radeon HD 5870
3x Intel X25-M 80 GB RAID-0; OCZ Agility 120 GB | Samsung SH-S243D
Corsair HX1000 | Dell 3007WFP & Samsung 204T | 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2008, 11:53 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,119

My System Specs

Default

people always over estimate the power they require. For some reason people seem to think they need a 800w power supply for their rigs when they don't.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2008, 01:06 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Hamilton Ont
Posts: 19
Default

I wasn't over estimating, just checking as nvidia says I need 550w to run the gtx280, which seemed kinda high to me, which is why I asked.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2008, 02:49 AM
Jackquelegs's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 2,591

My System Specs

Default

HX620 is easily enough. The Nvidia recommendation is for a complete system (their test system of some sorts) and around 600W is perfect for it. Mind that you do have a LOT of harddrives.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2008, 02:53 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackquelegs View Post
HX620 is easily enough. The Nvidia recommendation is for a complete system (their test system of some sorts) and around 600W is perfect for it. Mind that you do have a LOT of harddrives.
Hence why I recommended a 700w minimum ;)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2008, 09:54 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Hamilton Ont
Posts: 19
Default

OK thanks, I was hoping to avoid the purchase of a new power supply, the upgrade planned is at the max of the budget, maybe I will just get a gtx 260 instead. Then I won't have to worry about power. When I bought the 620 it was to last me many years, not 18 months LOL!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes