Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2008, 02:40 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 1,122

My System Specs

Default

yes p4 will do,but you can get a new 4600+ x2 2.4 ghz for under $60.00.. pc for under 320.00 is doable easy

edit:complete i missed that ,,,not doable for 320
__________________
http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=932179

"Be so good at what you do that you cant be ignored"


Last edited by jay51; July 28, 2008 at 02:43 PM. Reason: can't read at times
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2008, 03:07 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 49
Default

Okay i followed some advice but will these do?

Motherboard:M3A78-EMH HDMI w/ AMD 780G
Processor: Athlon™ X2 5200+ EE w/ 2x512K Cache (Socket AM2)
RAM:Mushkin EM2-6400 Enhanced DDR2 SDRAM, 2GB Dual Pack (2 x 1GB)
VideoCard:Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 3450 512MB DDR2
HDD:80GB Barracuda 7200.10 SATA II w/ NCQ, 8MB Cache
PowerSupply:Im thinking of corsair 450W. Is this enough?

Are the parts compatible(RAM, Videocard, Motherboard)?

Thanks Guys

Last edited by blogz101; July 28, 2008 at 03:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2008, 04:43 PM
Leclerc's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Rouyn-Noranda (Qc.)
Posts: 110
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blogz101 View Post
Okay i followed some advice but will these do?

Motherboard:M3A78-EMH HDMI w/ AMD 780G
Processor: Athlon™ X2 5200+ EE w/ 2x512K Cache (Socket AM2)
RAM:Mushkin EM2-6400 Enhanced DDR2 SDRAM, 2GB Dual Pack (2 x 1GB)
VideoCard:Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 3450 512MB DDR2
HDD:80GB Barracuda 7200.10 SATA II w/ NCQ, 8MB Cache
PowerSupply:Im thinking of corsair 450W. Is this enough?

Are the parts compatible(RAM, Videocard, Motherboard)?

Thanks Guys
The 780G already have onboard graphic and if you plan to use hybrid graphic between the onboard and the 3450 you need to know that you will need to use Vista.

And for this basic system yes a corsair 450w will be enough. But if you want to save an extra 10$ the strider st50f from silverstone (Silverstone Strider ST50F 500W ATX12V 24PIN Power Supply W/120MM Fan Active PFC - DirectCanada Technology), wich is the one i use for my rig (see my signature), could be a really good choice too.

The X2 4600+ brisbane core could be a good choice. Mine hit 3Ghz (from 2.4 stock) in 15 minutes without trying to tweak the ram to get it further.

For the mobo, I recommend this one (Gigabyte GA-MA78G-DS3H AMD780G ATX AM2+ 2PCI-E SATA RAID Sound GLAN 1394 CrossFireX HDMI Motherboard - DirectCanada). Has a better quality construction with all solid capacitor and is atx form instead of matx.

For the ram, there's guys that are much better than me to advise you. Personnally, I'm satisfied with my mushkin HP.

Have fun !!!
__________________
Leclerc

AthlonX2 4600+ @ 3.0Ghz (tweaked by Ebdoradz) | Gigabyte MA790X-DS4 | 2x1GB Mushkin HP PC2-6400 @ 860Mhz | Silverstone Strider 500W PSU | Palit Radeon HD 3850 @ 720Mhz/1.76Ghz on 22" Acer X223w monitor | Thermaltake SopranoRS 101 | 1 x Seagate 250GB

Last edited by Leclerc; July 28, 2008 at 04:44 PM. Reason: mistake in my parts recommandation
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2008, 06:00 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,892

My System Specs

Default

Yeah the Gigabyte 780G motherboard is much better than the ASUS.

The onboard graphics are perfectly fine and I doubt a HD3450 is much better so I wouldn't bother with a video card.

Mushkin HP2 is only $5 more I believe so it's worth while to get it I'd say.

Also the price difference from 80GB to 160GB or even 250GB is very slim so you might as well have extra space should the user ever need to store a bunch of photos/documents/videos etc.

The Corsair 450W PSU is great for it's price and would definitely power this system.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2008, 06:48 PM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leclerc View Post
The 780G already have onboard graphic and if you plan to use hybrid graphic between the onboard and the 3450 you need to know that you will need to use Vista.

And for this basic system yes a corsair 450w will be enough. But if you want to save an extra 10$ the strider st50f from silverstone (Silverstone Strider ST50F 500W ATX12V 24PIN Power Supply W/120MM Fan Active PFC - DirectCanada Technology), wich is the one i use for my rig (see my signature), could be a really good choice too.

The X2 4600+ brisbane core could be a good choice. Mine hit 3Ghz (from 2.4 stock) in 15 minutes without trying to tweak the ram to get it further.

For the mobo, I recommend this one (Gigabyte GA-MA78G-DS3H AMD780G ATX AM2+ 2PCI-E SATA RAID Sound GLAN 1394 CrossFireX HDMI Motherboard - DirectCanada). Has a better quality construction with all solid capacitor and is atx form instead of matx.

For the ram, there's guys that are much better than me to advise you. Personnally, I'm satisfied with my mushkin HP.

Have fun !!!
i second that ;)

Leclerc did a good suggestion to you. ive personnaly play and hit 3ghz with his system and the psu he recommend you is quite solid.

for the cpu, if you wont OC you can get a faster cpu ... but you can easely hit 300-400mhz on stock vcore/stock heatsink

and yes the gygabite board is better then the asus, more feature rich and better build quality
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2008, 07:01 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 49
Default

thanks guys ill canvas later on with your recommended products
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old July 29, 2008, 09:13 AM
andynerd's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 365
Default

i priced out a nice DIY computer for around 550 at ncix.com (not including shipping or video card)
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old July 29, 2008, 12:52 PM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default

heres THE DEAL

PCChips A13G+ Socket AM2 Barebone Kit - v3.0, AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ 2.60GHz Black Edition Retail, 160GB SATA HD, 2GB DDR2 PC6400, ATX Mid-Tower Case, 450 Watt Power Supply in Canada at TigerDirect.ca

motherbaord + athlon x2 5000+ black edition + case + psu + 2*1gb ddr2 800 + 160gb HDD all that for 199.99$ OMFG:sho k:

mobo have a geforce 6100 onboard all you need is love and a dvd burner

thats a complete system for less then 300$ bucks
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old July 29, 2008, 05:42 PM
andynerd's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 365
Default

holy god O_O SO AMAZING WHAT A PRICE!! with that i could buy 2 9800GX2 SLI'd and a dvd burner and a new hdd i would be set, wow all those things would set me back about 300 dollars thats nice :)
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2008, 08:56 PM
JoetheMobster's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 29
Default

PCChips, now there's a name I haven't heard of in a long time! Wonder if their quality is any better these days?!?
__________________
CPU AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE RAM 8Gb Corsair XMS3 Mobo Gigabyte GA-770T-USB3 GPU XFX 7870 Double D Monitor Samsung SyncMaster 2253LW Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+ OS Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes