Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2008, 01:35 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7
Default Newbe Build,

Hi Guys, im new to the forum and i hope you dont mind me posting, anyways its been awhile since i built my own machine, in fact the last one was about 8 years ago, a 333mhz K6 machine, been using laptops since but things have change and i have a work laptop which leaves me a little cash to put together a nice’ish machine at home, because ive been away from it for a while i just wanted to get some opinions on what i have speced up so far.:

Case Thermaltake Armor+
CPU Q6600
Mainboard DFI Lan Party DK X48-T2R Intel X48
RAM Corsair 4GB DDR2 XMS2 Dominator PC2-8500C5 TwinX
Hard drive Samsung SpinPoint F1 750GB SATA-II 32MB Cache - OEM
Power Supply Thermaltake ToughPower 750W Power Supply
Drives 2 x Sony NEC Optiarc DRU-190S 20x DVD±RW SATA Dual Layer ReWriter
Video Card Asus ATI Radeon HD 4850 512MB GDDR3 TV-Out/Dual DVI/HDMI


So what do you think? anything you think i should swap?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2008, 01:47 PM
Chos3n's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Rigaud,QC
Posts: 745
Default

There is a good deal on the Mushkin RAM on NCIX, offers a much better OC.

RAM
http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...acture=MUSHKIN

Power Supply (Modular)
http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...acture=CORSAIR

Case
http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...e=COOLERMASTER


I would swap the RAM for the mushkin ram, it's really cheap and overclocks well. For the power supply, you should have enough with a 520watts but you could always get a OCZ. The case, I dunno where you will get it from though, but NCIX doesn't have them in stock, it's a special order, if you want a big case with lot of airflow, the stacker is for you.
__________________
System | Ragnarok
Case Antec 900
PSU Corsair TX750W
CPU Intel Core i7 2700K 3.5GHZ
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V
Memory Corsair Vengeance Blue 8GB 2X4GB DDR3-1600 CL9-9-9-24
Video Card MSI GeForce GTX 560 Ti Twin Frozr II
Sound Card ASUS Xonar DX

Last edited by Chos3n; July 23, 2008 at 01:56 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2008, 01:55 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,669

My System Specs

Default

What do you plan on doing with this rig? And what is your budget?

Oh, and Welcome to the Forums.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2008, 02:05 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7
Default

Hi Guys,

Well im based in the uk, hope you dont mind me joining, a bit of everything with the pc, games, i only really play command and conquer 3, hopfully red alert 3 when it comes out, i spend a lot of time with lots of programs open at the same time, Many Pages on IE, Outlook and word, Nero, that sort of thing,
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2008, 02:12 PM
Chos3n's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Rigaud,QC
Posts: 745
Default

Then forget the case I suggested :P, it's a big overpriced. But the RAM I suggested you, is really good and only 120$ ish.

So, I'm guessing you want a machine that will work and won't bother with overclocking. Am I right?


Edit: Do you plan do buy all your parts from a UK site like www.dabs.com ?
__________________
System | Ragnarok
Case Antec 900
PSU Corsair TX750W
CPU Intel Core i7 2700K 3.5GHZ
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V
Memory Corsair Vengeance Blue 8GB 2X4GB DDR3-1600 CL9-9-9-24
Video Card MSI GeForce GTX 560 Ti Twin Frozr II
Sound Card ASUS Xonar DX
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2008, 02:26 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7
Default

yeah ever dabs.com or overclockers.co.uk, both seem to have some good prices, i thought i would give he Overclocking a little go, just because i like to play around with things i guess, the plan was to set the system up and then to upgrade to move expensive parts when i have the cash,
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2008, 02:54 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,776
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by territt View Post
Hi Guys,

Well im based in the uk, hope you dont mind me joining
Of COURSE we don't mind you joining!! The more the merrier.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2008, 03:08 PM
Leclerc's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Rouyn-Noranda (Qc.)
Posts: 110
Default

You may take a look to a core 2 duo like the E8400 or E8500 instead of a quad has it gives about the same performance in games and is easier to cooldown with a good air cooling when overclocked. But it's sure that the Q6600 still interesting with his low price.
__________________
Leclerc

AthlonX2 4600+ @ 3.0Ghz (tweaked by Ebdoradz) | Gigabyte MA790X-DS4 | 2x1GB Mushkin HP PC2-6400 @ 860Mhz | Silverstone Strider 500W PSU | Palit Radeon HD 3850 @ 720Mhz/1.76Ghz on 22" Acer X223w monitor | Thermaltake SopranoRS 101 | 1 x Seagate 250GB
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2008, 04:13 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,669

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by territt View Post
Hi Guys,

Well im based in the uk, hope you dont mind me joining, a bit of everything with the pc, games, i only really play command and conquer 3, hopfully red alert 3 when it comes out, i spend a lot of time with lots of programs open at the same time, Many Pages on IE, Outlook and word, Nero, that sort of thing,
Well then ditch the DFI board and go for the Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS3L. Definitely choose the Q6600 if you are really multi-tasking. 4Gb of ram like the one Chosen suggested may be overkill, but for the price it's a very good choice. And I second Chosen's choice of PSU, in lieu of the Thermaltake - being modular is a big advantage.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2008, 04:43 PM
reaverclan's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: USA,CA
Posts: 443

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Well then ditch the DFI board and go for the Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS3L. .
whats the difference between that and the GA-P35-DS3L rev.2
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes