Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2008, 05:29 PM
calvary1980's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 73
Default

the DFI Board has Two PCIE 2.0 Slots in 16x, Higher FSB, PCI X4 Slot, Four more USB 2.0, 2 More SATA Ports, Raid Support, Better Cooling, Way More Bios Options.

I like the Light version better it has 8 Phase VRM, Better Cooling and more Bios Options. I think thats about it oh yes and my favorite no capacitors surrounding cpu socket.

- Christine
__________________
Cooler Master RC-690 | Thermaltake Toughpower 1000W | 6x Scythe S-Flex SFF21F Fans, EK-MultiOption 2 Port, dB-1 Compact, Swiftech MCR80, Swiftech Apogee GT | Abit IP35-Pro | Intel Q6600 @ 3.8Ghz | 2x1GB OCZ Flex XLC PC-9200 | Inno3D Geforce 8800 GTS 320MB

Last edited by calvary1980; July 23, 2008 at 05:39 PM. Reason: capacitors
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2008, 05:45 PM
reaverclan's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: USA,CA
Posts: 443

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by calvary1980 View Post
the DFI Board has Two PCIE 2.0 Slots in 16x, Higher FSB, PCI X4 Slot, Four more USB 2.0, 2 More SATA Ports, Raid Support, Better Cooling, Way More Bios Options.

I like the Light version better it has 8 Phase VRM, Better Cooling and more Bios Options. I think thats about it oh yes and my favorite no capacitors surrounding cpu socket.

- Christine
no lol i meant the diff. between the ga-ep35-ds3l and the ga-p35-ds3l
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2008, 06:11 PM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default

Here is a comparison from Gigabyte's website.

__________________
"Though I walk through the shadow of the Valley of Death I shall fear no evil as my C8 Carbine is locked and loaded."

Next Build: E5200 @ 3.6GHz (333x11) | Xigmatek HDT-RS1283 HSF | Biostar TP43D2-A7 | Mushkin Redlines DDR2-1000 @ DDR2-999 5-5-5-12
EVGA 9600 GT 512MB - 650MHz - 1800MHz - 1626MHz | Seagate 'Cuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA2 | Corsair VX550 | CM690 - Custom Atomic Orange Pearl


[Heatware]
[eBay]
[Rosetta]
BALISTX.com
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2008, 06:49 PM
reaverclan's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: USA,CA
Posts: 443

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BALISTX View Post
Here is a comparison from Gigabyte's website.

cool thanks so its basically fsb and ram speeds nice
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2008, 06:51 PM
calvary1980's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 73
Default

oh lol. the EP35 has a new energy saving feature (can be turned off), more SATA ports, raid support and probably a new stock bios think thats it. that table is wrong.

- Christine
__________________
Cooler Master RC-690 | Thermaltake Toughpower 1000W | 6x Scythe S-Flex SFF21F Fans, EK-MultiOption 2 Port, dB-1 Compact, Swiftech MCR80, Swiftech Apogee GT | Abit IP35-Pro | Intel Q6600 @ 3.8Ghz | 2x1GB OCZ Flex XLC PC-9200 | Inno3D Geforce 8800 GTS 320MB
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2008, 08:13 PM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default

How is the table wrong when it comes directly from the Gigabyte website's?

Yes it has the engergy saving feature. No it does not have more SATA ports, it has 4 just like the P35-DS3L, it does not support RAID. and it probably ships with a new BIOS.

I think you are thinking of GA-EP35-DS3R which has 6 SATA ports and does support RAID.
__________________
"Though I walk through the shadow of the Valley of Death I shall fear no evil as my C8 Carbine is locked and loaded."

Next Build: E5200 @ 3.6GHz (333x11) | Xigmatek HDT-RS1283 HSF | Biostar TP43D2-A7 | Mushkin Redlines DDR2-1000 @ DDR2-999 5-5-5-12
EVGA 9600 GT 512MB - 650MHz - 1800MHz - 1626MHz | Seagate 'Cuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA2 | Corsair VX550 | CM690 - Custom Atomic Orange Pearl


[Heatware]
[eBay]
[Rosetta]
BALISTX.com
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2008, 08:20 PM
reaverclan's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: USA,CA
Posts: 443

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BALISTX View Post
How is the table wrong when it comes directly from the Gigabyte website's?

Yes it has the engergy saving feature. No it does not have more SATA ports, it has 4 just like the P35-DS3L, it does not support RAID. and it probably ships with a new BIOS.

I think you are thinking of GA-EP35-DS3R which has 6 SATA ports and does support RAID.
lol hey balistx what bios u sing on your rev.2 and can u answer this question?

gotta question and don't want to open a new thread:) i have a ds3l rev.2 see sig and i was wondering since my hx620w has a 8 pin and a 4 pin and im using the 4 pin im switching cases to a a antec 1200 soon(will try to review it) and when i put the mobo in it is it more stable to use the 8 pin on my cpu or will it mess with something?
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2008, 08:26 PM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default

I believe my board shipped with the F5 BIOS but don't quote me on that it's been so long since I looked. and the computer is apart right now. I haven't updated the BIOS at all.

With that board you can only use the 4pin since there is no 8 pin 12V ATX connection.
__________________
"Though I walk through the shadow of the Valley of Death I shall fear no evil as my C8 Carbine is locked and loaded."

Next Build: E5200 @ 3.6GHz (333x11) | Xigmatek HDT-RS1283 HSF | Biostar TP43D2-A7 | Mushkin Redlines DDR2-1000 @ DDR2-999 5-5-5-12
EVGA 9600 GT 512MB - 650MHz - 1800MHz - 1626MHz | Seagate 'Cuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA2 | Corsair VX550 | CM690 - Custom Atomic Orange Pearl


[Heatware]
[eBay]
[Rosetta]
BALISTX.com
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2008, 08:32 PM
reaverclan's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: USA,CA
Posts: 443

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BALISTX View Post
I believe my board shipped with the F5 BIOS but don't quote me on that it's been so long since I looked. and the computer is apart right now. I haven't updated the BIOS at all.

With that board you can only use the 4pin since there is no 8 pin 12V ATX connection.
thanks for the retard alert on second glance i realized that the cap i though cover the cpu2 was just a capacitor in box form by it lol
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2008, 08:34 PM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default

No prob anytime.

It's okay we all make those mistakes.

I gotta ask, are you a fan of Firefly? I'm just guessing form your name and all.
__________________
"Though I walk through the shadow of the Valley of Death I shall fear no evil as my C8 Carbine is locked and loaded."

Next Build: E5200 @ 3.6GHz (333x11) | Xigmatek HDT-RS1283 HSF | Biostar TP43D2-A7 | Mushkin Redlines DDR2-1000 @ DDR2-999 5-5-5-12
EVGA 9600 GT 512MB - 650MHz - 1800MHz - 1626MHz | Seagate 'Cuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA2 | Corsair VX550 | CM690 - Custom Atomic Orange Pearl


[Heatware]
[eBay]
[Rosetta]
BALISTX.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes