Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2008, 07:53 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,648
Default

Whoops...
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2008, 08:08 AM
Rapid-X's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ajax
Posts: 332

My System Specs

Default

that is a wicked case wish mine look that good , hey sky im buying vista this friday and then im back up and running all i got is this penitum 3 running off xp. stupid xp wont install on the new system in my sig no idea y freezes at starting window screen.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2008, 11:17 AM
yamawho's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rosemere, Qc, Canada
Posts: 860
Default

I had a bit more time today to look under the hood and found the following;

Using CPUz v1.46 the multi is at x6 and the vcore at 1.120v
This confused me a bit until there was some hdd activity and the multi jumped to x9.5 and the vcore to 1.144v. Although I don't have the Asus power utility installed, I did read that the mobo will adjust to the power requirements on it's own.

Also to my surprise, my Corsair value ram 2 x 2GB DDR2 667 is running at 400 mhz or 5:6 instead of 1:1 270 mhz.

Acording to SPD
270Mhz 4,4,4,13
400Mhz 5,5,5,18

In the bios the Dram frequency at set to auto.

So, what does this mean ... if I set the Dram to 667 I should be able to overclock my e8500 to 800 Mhz (400 fsb) with 5,5,5,18 at 1.8v.

9.5 x 333 = 3.160 Ghz
9.5 x 400 = 3.800 Ghz

I see several bios setting which are new to me ...
Before I attempt this overclock, can anyone offer some guidance with the bios settings ?
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2008, 07:10 AM
yamawho's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rosemere, Qc, Canada
Posts: 860
Default

Here is a pic of the completed build.
I installed two rear 80mm fans and two more in the front.
They are controlled by a Sunbeam 4 channel fan controller.
I wired two fan per channel and they are running around 5 volts.
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes