Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2008, 11:43 PM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Your ram is going to bottleneck your gaming,thats the thing.
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2008, 11:44 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheator View Post
Your ram is going to bottleneck your gaming,thats the thing.
Not if he goes 2gb and overclocks it ;)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2008, 11:53 PM
Paintrain's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7
Default

ya I figure since I wont be pushing anything past a 1680x1050 res I wont need to crossfire for awhile. But when the 4850 reaches its EOL I figure thats when I will pick up another one for cheap (i hope) then my PC will get alittle extra kick for the newer games and it can hold up my upgrading for awhile longer. thats my theory anyways.

Edit - ive been told by a couple of ncix users that if I dont plan to OC that the 667 will do just fine and wont bottleneck the pc b/c the FSB and RAM will run at a 1:1. Only get faster ram if I plan to OC like DDR800 if I wanna hit 3.6 which would be a 400FSB which would run nice with DDR800/2 = 400 for a 1:1 ratio.

When I upgrade to Vista...sometime I will upgrade to a 4gig kit 2x2
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2008, 11:55 PM
CanadaRox's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Scarborough (Toronto)
Posts: 614
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Not if he goes 2gb and overclocks it ;)
It would probably be more worth it to go with something faster and overclocking that. Now you can get DDR2-800 for dirt cheap. This Corsair stuff is 6400 and will cost $5 less (after a MIR) http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...R&promoid=1051 Even after tax its still a better deal.
__________________
Project: Black and White
i7 920 D0 | 3 x 2GB DDR3 | EVGA X58 SLI LE
XFX 4890 | Corsair HX750 | Corsair Obsidian
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2008, 11:58 PM
Paintrain's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadaRox View Post
It would probably be more worth it to go with something faster and overclocking that. Now you can get DDR2-800 for dirt cheap. This Corsair stuff is 6400 and will cost $5 less (after a MIR) http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...R&promoid=1051 Even after tax its still a better deal.
Its funny you picked that ram b/c I was looking at it myself and it was either that or the Crucial and your right it is a good deal IF you get the rebate, but I rarely if ever do those rebates :( just not worth the time/stress fighting with the rebate house for 20 bucks.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2008, 12:03 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadaRox View Post
It would probably be more worth it to go with something faster and overclocking that. Now you can get DDR2-800 for dirt cheap. This Corsair stuff is 6400 and will cost $5 less (after a MIR) http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...R&promoid=1051 Even after tax its still a better deal.
Look at my post after his.. its the exact memory I said :P
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2008, 12:19 AM
Paintrain's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7
Default

Well Ill speak to NCIX tmr and see if I can change the ram I already ordered everything and after that rebate it would be a better choice b/c I could just force the ram to run at 667 until im rdy to OC and then run them at thier default 800 and get that 3.6 overclock.

good call guys and thanks!

Going to grab this ram http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...R&promoid=1051

Last edited by Paintrain; July 12, 2008 at 12:33 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes