Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 8, 2008, 07:58 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2
Default Need suggestions for system upgrade

Well, pretty much new. I'm almost convinced there is something wrong with this mobo, but I've had it for probably two years now so meh. I'm about 73% sure I'll start syphoning off funds into my PayPal account in the coming weeks. Any help with putting together a system would be cool beans.

I'll post a Before and then a Potential After, I guess.

Nowie:
800W SilverStone Strider PSU (Keep)
Two DVD drives (I'll probably replace the oldest)
160Gb (OS + programs) and 250GB (torrents) hard drives, both PATA (Go)
2x1GB DDR RAM (Go)
HD 2900XT (Undecided)
AMD FX-60 (go)
DFI RDX200 (?) mobo (Go)
Cooling is a Reserator 2 kit. (Go)

Planned (feel free to change anything): I'll need two hard drives, RAM, a mobo, cooling and a CPU.
ASUS M3A32-MVP Deluxe (although dual Ethernet would be more convenient, if anybody knows of a unit with that feature)
1 small-ish HD for the OS and programs, one large for downloads and Futurama back ups. (or possibly just one with two partitions)
AMD Phenom X4 9850 (possibly wait for the 45nm ones?)
Crucial Ballistix PC2-8500 DDR2 2GB 2X1GB
Diamond Radeon HD 4850 512MB
(possibly x2)
And it'll all go into an Antec P182.
Cooling? Most likely air.

Like I said, change anything you want. I'm really looking for help on this one as I'd like to spend as little as possible while still playing games at a mid-high level.

Thanks.
-Mini-Me
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 8, 2008, 08:59 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,136
Default

Are you determined to stay with an AMD system? Once you change out the motherboard, you're basically working on a blank slate, so now's the time to change camps if you're considering. I mention this because when it comes to cheap overclocking, Intel's pretty hard to beat, and even their cheap motherboards hold up nicely. But setting aside that prospect...

Depending on how high you've got that FX-60 clocked, I don't know that I'd expect much gaming improvement with the X4 9850. Just like with the dual vs Quad question for Intel, 9 out of 10 games benefit more from a faster clocked dual-core than a slower quad. You might want to consider sticking it into the new mobo until some 45nm stuff comes along. A heatsink like the Noctua NH-U12P will do a good job, make very little noise, and accommodate a second fan.

You might consider a 4GB kit of RAM, considering the prices these days. Depends partly on what OS you're going to run, I suppose.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 8, 2008, 09:15 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,815

My System Specs

Default

Go with something along the lines of this:
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E8400
Motherboard: ASUS P5Q-E or Deluxe or Gigabyte GA-EP45-DS3R
RAM: 2x2GB DDR2-8000/8500 Mushkin/Corsair/OCZ/G.SKILL
Video card: HD4870
Cooling: Xigmatek HDT-S1283 or Sunbeam Core Contact
Hard Drives: Perhaps dual Western Digital 640GB drives. 1 for OS/Apps and 1 for storage.

That'll surely play games at medium settings though more likely high settings depending on your screen resolution.

AMD really isn't a wise choice at this point in time.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2008, 09:54 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2
Default

The FX60 is still at 2.6 (stock). I can't get it any higher than 2.8 stable. It won't post if I try 3.0. I'm not sticking to AMD/ATI anymore. Too many stupid biased purchases by me.

That looks pretty good jdrom. Still don't know if this one can hold out (another crash during this message (gotta love Firefox and it's textbox saving ass) and my largest hard drive won't stop whining) until there are some numbers for the 45nm Phenoms, so I may start picking up the transferable pieces until then. Or maybe I'll be sad one day and make myself happy, who knows?

Resolution is 1680*1050 if it still matters.

Thanks for the help guys.
-Mini
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2008, 10:03 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,225

My System Specs

Default

Avoid the ballistix until we start seeing some good news about them on the `net.

Folks have been having major issues with them, and they don't all appear to be related to P35 chipsets.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2008, 10:34 AM
misterd's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Charlottetown, P.E.I.
Posts: 603
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Avoid the ballistix until we start seeing some good news about them on the `net.

Folks have been having major issues with them, and they don't all appear to be related to P35 chipsets.
What's wrong with them? I happen to have both the p5k premium + crucial d9's + q6600 @ 3.4 (i did have to RMA one set of Ballistix but that could be from anything) Oh yeah sswilson nice to see a fellow 902'er here :D
__________________
#hardwarecanucks on irc.freenode.net
fiat justitia ruat caelum

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2008, 11:54 AM
Computergeek's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NS, Canada
Posts: 148

My System Specs

Default

Yea i didn't think anybody was from Nova scotia or this forum....
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes