Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old July 7, 2008, 10:42 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

Fact: Couldn't get a Maximus Extreme over 500 FSB. And I know how to oc.
Fact: Had to RMA twice them boards, in the last year alone. Took a week on both occasions to answer my request.
Fact: Tell me where on HWC and RFD I can get those Asus drivers and BIOSes.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old July 7, 2008, 11:14 PM
Computergeek's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NS, Canada
Posts: 148

My System Specs

Default

Would it be worth going from an Intel E6750 to a E8400?
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old July 8, 2008, 12:14 AM
burebista's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Romania
Posts: 598

My System Specs

Default

If you're not a benchmark freak, no it's not worth changing CPU's.
I have a friend who did that (it was for free) and he told me that in usual stuff (including games) he didn't see anything better with E8400.
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old July 8, 2008, 07:14 AM
Computergeek's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NS, Canada
Posts: 148

My System Specs

Default

ok great, just what i wanted to hear
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old July 8, 2008, 07:35 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,880

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Computergeek View Post
Would it be worth going from an Intel E6750 to a E8400?
I'd get the E8400 myself. It's 45nm, has more L2 cache, and comes clocked faster stock. Plus with some decent cooling you can get 4GHz.
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old July 8, 2008, 09:10 AM
burebista's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Romania
Posts: 598

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrom17 View Post
It's 45nm, has more L2 cache, and comes clocked faster stock. Plus with some decent cooling you can get 4GHz.
Agree, and for what 4GHz? Faster browsing? Faster movies/music? 70 FPS instead 60 FPS in games?
As long as you don't do sort of rendering/encoding/ripping that 1GHz is only wasted watts/heat.
And with that E6750 you can do some decent overclock.
Is just my point of view.
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old July 8, 2008, 09:51 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,880

My System Specs

Default

If anything the E8400 would run cooler at 4GHz than the E6750 as it's 45nm vs 65nm. I believe 45nm vs 65nm yields 5-10% performance gain clock for clock as well.

Though it does depend on what he's doing. If he didn't already have a E6750 then I'd surely say to get the E8400. Upgrading to it is a tough decision unless he believes he needs those extra MHz and cache. However you can get a Q6600 for the same price basically which would show the most gain in rendering/encoding since its quad-core.

Oh and 4GHz sounds cooler
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old July 8, 2008, 10:35 AM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,836
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Computergeek View Post
Would it be worth going from an Intel E6750 to a E8400?
it depends how good your particular E6750 is. There was a very good batch that came out before christmas that can run lowish volts (~1.325) at high Oc's (~3.6), runs quite cool, and can be pushed to 4ghz and beyond. Some of the older ones were pretty awful by comparison. dont know what the current ones are like. Anyway if you can get it to around 3.4-3.6 without much effort I wouldn't bother upgrading right now.
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.

Last edited by magictorch; July 8, 2008 at 10:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old July 8, 2008, 11:42 AM
Computergeek's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NS, Canada
Posts: 148

My System Specs

Default

yea i got mine to 3.4 with no effort at all so i think i got a good one
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes