Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2008, 12:18 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,629

My System Specs

Default

If you can find a copy of the july Computer Power User magazine they had a pretty good article on the different workstation GFX cards which are currently available.

Here's the link to the first little snippet of it Computer Power User Article - Pro Graphics Battle Royale , unfortunately it's a subscription service if you want to read the whole thing on-line.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2008, 12:29 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,735
Default

Thats weird.....What program are these running? I've never had a single complaint about a FX 5xx series or higher. The next step up is the FX 1700, you're looking about $500 each.... Then the FX 3700, which is just shy of $1000. If you are really brave, I have a few people who swear by the FX 5600.....but $3k is kinda hard to swallow..... I seriously think it is not the videocard being your problem, application depending of course
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2008, 12:50 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,703
Default

Here is an easy fix:

By default, ever AutoDesk program pre-2007 versions defaults to the SOFTWARE RENDERER instead of the Hardware Renderer (your graphics card). Thus, if you do not switch to the hardware option you will get horrible performance when using any Autodesk program in 3D work. So, make sure that the hardware renderer is selected in Options --> Display and Render.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2008, 01:08 PM
Ankhwatcher's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 41

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
Here is an easy fix:

By default, ever AutoDesk program pre-2007 versions defaults to the SOFTWARE RENDERER instead of the Hardware Renderer (your graphics card). Thus, if you do not switch to the hardware option you will get horrible performance when using any Autodesk program in 3D work. So, make sure that the hardware renderer is selected in Options --> Display and Render.
Uh nope. There is no 'Options' and I couldn't find a choice of renderer in preferences.
__________________
Main System (now): Q9450 @ 2.667GHz | Asus P5Q Deluxe | 2x1GB Crucial Ballistix DDR2-800 | 2 x Samsung SpinPoint 500GB 7200RPM | Everest 800w | EVGA 9800GTX 512MB GDDR3 in SLi | Samsung 22" LCD Syncmaster 226CW, 1680x1050, 2ms, 3000:1 | G15 | G7 | Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit (goal)
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2008, 04:45 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,703
Default

In AutoCAD, go into the command line and type "OP" and press enter. This will bring up the Options dialog box.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2008, 07:06 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,926

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
In AutoCAD, go into the command line and type "OP" and press enter. This will bring up the Options dialog box.
Maybe try "3dconfig" as well? Not sure if it works in older versions, but it does in 2008 at least.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2008, 07:50 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,654

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
In AutoCAD, go into the command line and type "OP" and press enter. This will bring up the Options dialog box.
Works in 2005; under the System tab, click the Properties button next to the "Current Graphics Display"; next window, bottom right-hand-side choose Hardware. Done.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2008, 08:37 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,833
Default

I wouldn't use 64 bit windows in any enterprise environment. Slower and buggier than 32 bit.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old July 17, 2008, 11:30 AM
misterd's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Charlottetown, P.E.I.
Posts: 608
Default

That's funny that Server 2008 is only going to be 64bit...
__________________
#hardwarecanucks on irc.freenode.net
fiat justitia ruat caelum

Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old July 17, 2008, 11:59 AM
CanadaRox's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Scarborough (Toronto)
Posts: 614
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squeetard View Post
I wouldn't use 64 bit windows in any enterprise environment. Slower and buggier than 32 bit.
Using applications that support 64bit it would be much faster. And using 32bit programs, they are barely any slower.
An old article, but shows pretty much conclusively that 64bit apps are much faster than their 32bit counterparts: AMD Athlon64 PCSTATS Review - 64-bit Benchmarks: nvidia, mini-gzip, DivX
__________________
Project: Black and White
i7 920 D0 | 3 x 2GB DDR3 | EVGA X58 SLI LE
XFX 4890 | Corsair HX750 | Corsair Obsidian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes