Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2008, 04:45 AM
mailaw's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pickering, Ontario
Posts: 145
Default

Hey Cptn Vortex, enaberif or someone else, my dad's in the same situation and does a lot of cad work and his workers do a fair bit of 3d rendering 4d cinema and a whole bunch of other stuff and he is also setting up some or a new work station. I was wondering what the advantage of the workstation cards are, they dont seem like there worth it but i dont know anything about them. Can someone explain please.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2008, 05:31 AM
paphman910's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 199
Default

I would stick with Quattro or FireGL as my coworker uses CAD at work.

Paphman910
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2008, 05:38 AM
mailaw's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pickering, Ontario
Posts: 145
Default

Buy why?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2008, 09:23 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is online now
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ankhwatcher View Post
Ok what is the advantage to workstation graphics cards? Also, will they happily run 2 monitors at med-high resolution?

Why? I wont get all 4GB of ram running under XP Pro, not even at 64-Bit.
I was planning on bumping the systems up to 2x1G + 2x512mb.
Windows XP Professional x64 does support 4GB+ RAM. 2x2GB is the way to go as it puts less stress on the motherboard's chipset.

I believe workstation cards are optimized for rendering and have better drivers to assist in that. Also some programs won't support hardware acceleration on normal graphics cards I think.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2008, 11:00 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 343
Default

This is a bit over simpified but...
Gaming cards are made to render images fast (FPS) and if the odd mistake is made it flys by and you don't notice it. Workstation cards are made to be extremely accurate. If you are designing in CAD you need that accuracy. When you draw something in CAD and then go to dimension it the lines need to be exactly where they are supposed to be. I wish I could explain better but please look into it more. If it's for CAD get a card that was designed for it. Especially for a bussiness.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2008, 01:02 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,727
Default

Yes. It is like comparing a Uzi to a Sniper rifle. Yes, and Uzi shoots lots of bullets really fast, but they are no where near accurate. In CAD work, doing proper renders and calculations is most important, therefore the Workstation cards get the job done much faster, as there is less correcting of errors going on.

And yes, they 570 will handle dual 30" monitors if you want. up to 2560x1600 res each.
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2008, 01:40 PM
Ankhwatcher's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 41

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cptn Vortex View Post
Yes. It is like comparing a Uzi to a Sniper rifle. Yes, and Uzi shoots lots of bullets really fast, but they are no where near accurate. In CAD work, doing proper renders and calculations is most important, therefore the Workstation cards get the job done much faster, as there is less correcting of errors going on.

And yes, they 570 will handle dual 30" monitors if you want. up to 2560x1600 res each.
Could I be like the spy in Team Fortress 2 and have both?
I kid, you've sold me on the workstation graphics cards.
I'll pass that along to Dad and his co-workers and see how they feel about it. (They had happily settled on the 9800GTX)
__________________
Main System (now): Q9450 @ 2.667GHz | Asus P5Q Deluxe | 2x1GB Crucial Ballistix DDR2-800 | 2 x Samsung SpinPoint 500GB 7200RPM | Everest 800w | EVGA 9800GTX 512MB GDDR3 in SLi | Samsung 22" LCD Syncmaster 226CW, 1680x1050, 2ms, 3000:1 | G15 | G7 | Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit (goal)
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2008, 02:04 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,727
Default

The FX 570 would KILL the 9800GTX in CAD work. Like I said, get a big powerful Uzi, and it still wont have the accuracy of a basic Sniper rifle!
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old July 2, 2008, 07:38 AM
mailaw's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pickering, Ontario
Posts: 145
Default

Thanks guys for the explanation, I'll also be explaining that one to my dad.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2008, 11:59 AM
Ankhwatcher's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 41

My System Specs

Angry

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cptn Vortex View Post
The FX 570 would KILL the 9800GTX in CAD work. Like I said, get a big powerful Uzi, and it still wont have the accuracy of a basic Sniper rifle!
Oh FFS! The three Quadro FX570s arrived and I went to install one, only to find (to my considerable dismay) that they are already in every PC in this office!
They are in fact what people are trying to upgrade away from, and they are certainly not gods gift to 3d rendering!
I will now be returning them to Dell. Does anyone have any other bright ideas?
__________________
Main System (now): Q9450 @ 2.667GHz | Asus P5Q Deluxe | 2x1GB Crucial Ballistix DDR2-800 | 2 x Samsung SpinPoint 500GB 7200RPM | Everest 800w | EVGA 9800GTX 512MB GDDR3 in SLi | Samsung 22" LCD Syncmaster 226CW, 1680x1050, 2ms, 3000:1 | G15 | G7 | Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit (goal)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes