Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2008, 08:49 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Van Isle, BC
Posts: 550
Default

If you pricematched those items, you could probably save yourself $100+ ... FYI ...
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2008, 01:53 PM
Jack Rabbit's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 784

My System Specs

Default

Do not buy new Ballistix RAM. The new revs are crap. I have a set (.8FE5) and they barely perform to spec. OCing them is impossible and they do not play well with others.
__________________
He either fears his fate too much, or his deserts are small, that dares not put it to the touch, to gain or lose it all.
- James Graham
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2008, 04:13 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 9
Default

So I should go with the HD4850 and some Mushkin memory? ....The redlines are a bit expensive, is there any other mushkin memory I could purchase that's cheaper? I'm a bit stuck on the motherboard, i have two people telling me that the one i've chosen is good..while the other two are suggesting others >_<


Btw, thanks for informing me about price match but i already knew and was using it =)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boldeagle View Post

But I really want to emphasise the greatest upgrade I mentioned is that PC&C PSU, you look anywhere on the net and you should find they make the "BEST" PSU in the market, for an extra $10US you get a 750W Quad compared to a Coolermaster PSU (very average at best), too many under-estimate the importance of a good PSU and it can become the most significant component between a working system and a flop!!!!!! GET THE PC&C!!!!!!!
Hmm..I'm assuming that my system wouldn't require too much from the PSU and the one i've chosen should do the job (atleast thats what many people have told me :p). I think i'll just save a few bucks and keep the corsair. Thanks for the suggestion though.

Last edited by FantasyBlossom; June 28, 2008 at 04:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2008, 05:15 PM
Leclerc's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Rouyn-Noranda (Qc.)
Posts: 110
Default

For your motherboard, if you want an Asus, go for it. It's really not a bad manufacturer. To be true it's one of the best. All I want is to give you an option and be sure you know that other manufacturers do has well of them.

But you don't tell if you would like to have the option of making crossfire ... if yes maybe this board http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...nufacture=ASUS could be a better choice because of it's two pci express 16x slots.

For the memory, maybe you could take a look to OCZ or patriot.
__________________
Leclerc

AthlonX2 4600+ @ 3.0Ghz (tweaked by Ebdoradz) | Gigabyte MA790X-DS4 | 2x1GB Mushkin HP PC2-6400 @ 860Mhz | Silverstone Strider 500W PSU | Palit Radeon HD 3850 @ 720Mhz/1.76Ghz on 22" Acer X223w monitor | Thermaltake SopranoRS 101 | 1 x Seagate 250GB
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2008, 05:25 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 223
Default

You have to provide a benchmark run after the build!

I didn't know that about Crucial and as I look I notice both that warn against have them in there signature......still love mine but going to take what you said onboard (one of my sets 2x1Gb is from August 2006 but the other is about 4months old and the SPD's are different for exact same part number had to manually set everything to get them to play well).
__________________
Q6600@3.15Ghz|CNPS9500|GA-EP45T Extreme|GSkill 2GB 1333MHz|Sapphire 4850|OZC GameXtreme 700|XP64
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2008, 05:56 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,627

My System Specs

Default

board: http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...cture=Gigabyte
ram: http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...acture=MUSHKIN
psu is fine.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2008, 07:32 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 9
Default


Umm i've changed the motherboard to the ASUS P5Q Pro ATX LGA775 P45, is that alright?


That memory you suggested is far too expensive =( I'm sure theres other good ones that are not $100+ x_x

How about this.. http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...y&promoid=1058
or http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...R&promoid=1058


Honestly...i really appreciate all of the help. I know that im rather annoying right about now and its amazing that everyone is still answering my questions. Great community here.

Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2008, 07:38 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,627

My System Specs

Default

P5Q is fine, no worries.
Ram? I'd rather choose these: http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...acture=MUSHKIN. I used to have a set; stable as hell, runs cool and can be overclocked rather well.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2008, 08:04 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,592
Default

The only thing I don't like about your order is your monitor.

A 19" widescreen is not a ideal setup as you'll have less desktop space vertically than a 19" non-widescreen.

To fix this you need to go to a 20" or a 22" to gain that space back.

A 19" WS feels like you are always cramped.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes