Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2008, 09:56 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 4
Default The Build

First of all: thanks to everyone who gave me suggestions in the enclosure thread, they were great in helping me pick one out (figured I'd say it here, instead of bumping the other one).

This build is mostly based on what is on sale this week at NCIX.

Case: Lian Li PC-V1200B PLUSII
PSU: Antec Signature Series 850W
Mobo: DFI Lan Party LT X48-T2R
RAM: Corsair Dominator 4GB DDR2-1066
CPU: Intel Core 2 Extreme QX9650
CPU HSF: Noctua NH-U12P
HDDs: 1x Samsung Spinpoint F1 Series HD103UJ 1TB
1x Western Digital SE16 320GB (have already)
1x Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB (for mobo RAID 1 with the WD)
Case Fans: 2x Noctua NF-S12-1200
1x Noctua NF-S12-800
Video: Radeon 4870 (whichever I can get my hands on asap)
OS: Vista Ultimate 64-bit

Let me know if you can see any potential problems, or if you have any other suggestions.

Last edited by JmanBC; June 25, 2008 at 10:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2008, 10:01 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 223
Default

Do the RAID (I know it's 1 and not 0) HDD have to be the same make and model??

Otherwise looks very nice.
__________________
Q6600@3.15Ghz|CNPS9500|GA-EP45T Extreme|GSkill 2GB 1333MHz|Sapphire 4850|OZC GameXtreme 700|XP64
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2008, 10:09 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 4
Default

As far as I know it is fine as long as they are the same capacity and similar performance.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2008, 10:33 PM
Phobia's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 1,148
Default

as far as i know, you can raid 2 different harddrives, however, the larger one will only be used to the same size as the smaller. For example, if you have a 250 and 320, and try to raid them, the 320 will only use 250 gb to match the other 250. I'm not 100% positive on that though
__________________
(whitty saying to be plagiarized at a later date)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2008, 06:22 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,815

My System Specs

Default

Looks like a pretty sweet build.

Yes, RAID1 will work fine with those drives. All RAID needs are that the drives are the same size.

You might want to change up your case fans though, the S12-1200s lack any sort of pressure, so if you have fan grills/filters on them, your going to loose a ton of airflow. They are really made for open air. You might want to consider the Scythe S-FLEX series instead.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2008, 09:41 AM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,136
Default

Yeah, I second changing the fans. Your HSF comes with one Noctua P-series, but I believe it's built to easily take a second fan, so getting a second one of those would match up nicely. Besides which, they're a sponsored deal on this forum right now. (So is the heatsink, if you didn't catch it).
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes