Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2016, 08:15 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 3
Thumbs up Pushing the Budget PC Limits

Hey All,

New to the thread here and recently subbed to Hardware Canucks after stumbling across some great videos on YouTube. Now, like some of us out there ....I've been perplexed trying to figure out what approach to take in once again building a PC. Unfortunately due to my lifestyle change (kids etc...) I have to be cost efficient. With that being said, I need the help from you guys to steer me into the right direction.

Historically, I would just buy high end type of PC's (pick and choose parts of course and have a local vendor assemble) but my current set up is definitely aging and I tried playing some of the new titles e.g. the division, and what a rough ride.
[*]The PC will be primarily for games (as always). [*]I live in Canada (Toronto) which should tell you what kind of prices I'm looking at (it sucks .. love you Americans for this reason).
- Never been a fan boy to neither competitor and doesn't bother me if i go AMD or Nvidea.
- I'm thinking my price point is 1000 or 1200 as my cap (hopefully we can get the most out of this cap).

That should give a brief overview to what I'm looking at. Any advice would be welcomed with open arms and can't wait to get this guy started.

Thank you ahead of time for any support.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2016, 08:22 PM
sweenytodd's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: winterPEG
Posts: 362

My System Specs

Default

Welcome to the forums!

What are the specs of your ageing PC? Maybe we can look at it and upgrade if necessary.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2016, 08:30 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Down under
Posts: 4,377

My System Specs

Default

Agree. What are your current components? Any other uses for the PC? Is your monitor 1080?
__________________
Desktop: Arc Midi R2, Z77-D3H, 3570K 1.09v/4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance [email protected], XFX R9 280X DD, Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2016, 09:11 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 3
Default

Thank you for the quick reply,

Sorry, I should have included the current set up;

GPU - GTX 480 Super clocked
CPU - I7 950 @ 3.0
RAM - 16 gigs
Mobo - Asus Rampage 3 Extreme
PS - Corsair HX850 Watt

Let me know if anything else is needed.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2016, 09:43 PM
sweenytodd's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: winterPEG
Posts: 362

My System Specs

Default

First thing I would in your rig is to overclock the cpu to 4.0 GHz provided that you have good cooling. It's still a good CPU for gaming.

Then for $1200 CAD, I would invest a 1440p Freesync monitor and a 390X. Most games on resolutions higher than 1080p lets the CPU rely on the GPU to render frames therefore no CPU bottlenecking (Correct my statement if I'm wrong). It's just my opinion, looking for other members' opinion as well to give you options.

Here's some proof to that, AMD FX-8350 powering GTX 780 SLI vs GTX 980 SLI at 2560x1440, AMD FX-8350 powering GTX 780 SLI vs GTX 980 SLI at 4K
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2016, 10:31 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Down under
Posts: 4,377

My System Specs

Default

Overclock the CPU (get a nice cooler if you don't have one already) and get a new GPU (r9 390/gtx 970/980) and then see if you are happy with it. Get a nice SSD for you windows drive as well.
__________________
Desktop: Arc Midi R2, Z77-D3H, 3570K 1.09v/4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance [email protected], XFX R9 280X DD, Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2016, 11:20 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 3
Default

Thank you for the feedback.

I'm loving the OC info, however, My question is that if I were to remain at the 1920x1080 would it be necessary to OC the CPU? I don't have cooling in place aside from case fans etc.. No worries on picking that up if need be.

I understand what you are saying below, so maybe a moot point.

Also the GPU such as a 970 for example, would it be compatible with PCI 3.0? This was also a concern in potentially requiring a new build due to bottleneck.

Let me know, I may just be over thinking this but some general concerns I had going into this prior to the OC discussion brought up.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2016, 02:58 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,595

My System Specs

Default

I would find a good mid ranged or better All-in-One cpu water cooler and overclock the shit outta that CPU. DDR3 ram is cheap so you could possibly invest in higher frequency ram to aid in better OC's. Your current PSU is perfect I wouldn't change it at all. Then invest in an awesome video card like a solid 970. EVGA Geforce GTX 970 HYBRID Gaming 4GB PCI-E w/ Liquid Cooling, Dual DVI, HDMI, DisplayPort at Memory Express
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2016, 04:40 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Down under
Posts: 4,377

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fenux View Post
Thank you for the feedback.

I'm loving the OC info, however, My question is that if I were to remain at the 1920x1080 would it be necessary to OC the CPU? I don't have cooling in place aside from case fans etc.. No worries on picking that up if need be.

I understand what you are saying below, so maybe a moot point.

Also the GPU such as a 970 for example, would it be compatible with PCI 3.0? This was also a concern in potentially requiring a new build due to bottleneck.

Let me know, I may just be over thinking this but some general concerns I had going into this prior to the OC discussion brought up.
The CPU could be a limiting factor, but it would be game dependant. The best part of the cooler/gpu/SSD options for an upgrade, is that if you are still not satisfied they slide over to your next upgrade without issue...and if you are happy then you saved a decent chunk of $. Pcie 2 vs 3 doesn't matter (in this scenario) as they are all compatible. You're probably running a pcie 2.0 x16 slot, which runs at the same speeds as a newer pcie 3.0 x8 slot. It won't hinder performance at all.

That said if you are not comfortable with buying and installing a new cooler and overclocking, just grab a new graphics card, give it a go, and see what you think from there. The Gtx 480 is definitely the weakest link in your PC for gaming. A used Gtx 970 would be a great choice.
__________________
Desktop: Arc Midi R2, Z77-D3H, 3570K 1.09v/4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance [email protected], XFX R9 280X DD, Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2016, 06:27 AM
Dark Knight's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 454
Default

With those system specifications the CPU and the GPU are still the limiting factors in the performance that your system gives. If you are looking to upgrade the CPU and Motherboard you can probably look into a Z97/Z87 Haswell build (4770K/4790K) depending on your budget especially if you are looking to re-use the DDR3 memory. A used GTX 970 or even a R9 280X/290X will give you great performance while being an affordable upgrade.

For the processor if you are not looking to move to a new platform then you can look into a 6-core 32nm Hexacore Xeon processor provided you have the latest bios on the Rampage III Extreme (1502). The top-end 32nm LGA1366 Hexacores are still very expensive so you can probably look into something like a X5660 or X5670. The X5680/X5690 are still expensive and haven't come down much in pricing compared to the lower models. You can also try looking at a W36XX series 32nm Hexacore which are more affordable than the top-end X5680/X5690 processors. Those 95W 32nm Hexacore Xeons overclock quite well too.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
G-sync preview becomes off-limits? 8goodking Off Topic 3 December 12, 2013 09:04 AM
Limits of z87 chipsets? Fudd Rucker Storage 3 November 2, 2013 10:50 AM
Really Pushing The 920 To Its Limit ! JORD4N CPU's and Motherboards 48 January 28, 2010 09:45 PM
Fighting the bandwidth limits in Canada Brian Off Topic 89 July 30, 2009 03:23 PM
Pushing the Limits Perhaps? Soultribunal Power Supplies 14 May 17, 2009 10:30 PM