Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2016, 02:40 PM
MARSTG's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 3,624

My System Specs

Default

No need to look to a Skylake build. Anything Sandy Bridge will do it, even a Core i3. For gaming at 1080p you should get used stuff. Cpu/mobo/ram could be used, they would work just as fine. Gpu wise i would go for a used 7970/R9 280X/GTX 960. 16GB of ram should shield you of any shortcomings. PSU should be single rail design and at least 80plus bronze and should have a good 20% of power more than the max wattage the whole system would take.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2016, 03:02 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Down under
Posts: 4,380

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kayen View Post
Budget will be a bit increased over what was posted.
I'll be gaming at 1080P, and willing to take some compromises.

If I were start up a new tower - should I be looking at a Skylake build?
You are correct my platform is pretty aged, and well ... even AMD's newest offerings right now seem like a mild-at-best upgrade over my current setup.
Intel generations have been adding slow, but constant improvements in power consumption and performance. You could get older parts and have it run fine, but given how long you ran your current PC I would be inclined to not go too old. I would recommend haswell or skylake...the biggest advantage of skylake being the motherboard features.

Your best bet if your budget is tight and since you don't seem to picky on what components you have would be to find a decent used tower. You will get more for your $ if you watch for deals.
__________________
Desktop: Arc Midi R2, Z77-D3H, 3570K 1.09v/4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance [email protected], XFX R9 280X DD, Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2016, 05:03 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,347

My System Specs

Default

I'd replace the power supply first because the old review I saw on that unit wasn't great. (It was a Hardware Secrets review, and I don't want to post directly to them anymore because I saw some outright garbage on their site 2 months ago.)

I'd look to a Skylake i3, or a Haswell/Skylake i5 build if you want anything noticeable over taking your current computer and overclocking it. As you already found out, you'll want to avoid the current generation AMD CPU because all you can get right now is an APU that will be a side-grade, or a 225W beast of an octa-core that has a minimal gain for gaming.
Also I don't know if you're talking MMO as in one of the accessible MOBA titles which your current computer can probably max out just fine, or something like Guild Wars 2 that has >30 player multiplayer that will eat your Phenom II for breakfast.
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2016, 09:45 PM
Kayen's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 706

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frontier204 View Post
I'd replace the power supply first because the old review I saw on that unit wasn't great. (It was a Hardware Secrets review, and I don't want to post directly to them anymore because I saw some outright garbage on their site 2 months ago.)

I'd look to a Skylake i3, or a Haswell/Skylake i5 build if you want anything noticeable over taking your current computer and overclocking it. As you already found out, you'll want to avoid the current generation AMD CPU because all you can get right now is an APU that will be a side-grade, or a 225W beast of an octa-core that has a minimal gain for gaming.
Also I don't know if you're talking MMO as in one of the accessible MOBA titles which your current computer can probably max out just fine, or something like Guild Wars 2 that has >30 player multiplayer that will eat your Phenom II for breakfast.
Just a Korean MMO (Blade and Soul), I have most things at 1-3 (out of 5), and it hangs a little bit sometimes (boss areas with a few dozen people taking down a single boss seems to be the worst). It is more heavily CPU intensive than it is GPU based, so I think even something like a GTX750 TI would suffice.

Thanks for all the help guys!

I think I'll save a little bit for a Skylake build - DDR4 is the new mainstream now so I might as well give it a shot.

Here's a sample build I did up on PC Parts Picker:

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

CPU: Intel Core i3-6100 3.7GHz Dual-Core Processor ($153.98 @ DirectCanada)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($39.25 @ Vuugo)
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-H110M-A Micro ATX LGA1151 Motherboard ($73.00 @ Vuugo)
Memory: G.Skill NT Series 8GB (1 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory ($42.98 @ Newegg Canada)
Storage: Crucial BX200 240GB 2.5" Solid State Drive ($79.99 @ NCIX)
Video Card: Asus GeForce GTX 750 Ti 2GB Video Card ($149.99 @ NCIX)
Power Supply: EVGA 600B 600W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply ($59.99 @ NCIX)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 10 Home OEM (64-bit) ($122.98 @ DirectCanada)
Total: $722.16
Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available
Generated by PCPartPicker 2016-04-16 00:46 EDT-0400

EDIT: Since I already have a Hyper 212+, can I get an extra bracket anywhere for it to fit the new socket.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2016, 06:58 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,601

My System Specs

Default

I honestly don't see the point to dual core cpus anymore and I personally wouldn't get less than an i5. If you do any kind of editing the extra horse power will make you a much happier man.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2016, 11:22 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 9

My System Specs

Default

I would replace the following parts:

Motherboard: ASRock Z170A-X1/3.1($148.75 - $30 MIR @ Vuugo)
Memory: GeIL EVO POTENZA 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 ($69.99, $8.99 shipping @ Newegg)
Power Supply: EVGA 500B 80 PLUS BRONZE 500W ($55 - $10 MIR @ Memex, no need for 600W for your build)
SSD: Patriot PBT240GS25SSDR Blast Series 240GB($75 @ NCIX)

For the OS, just move your windows 7/8 install to your new rig then upgrade. If you really must pay for a new copy of 10 then just grab a key off of kinguin for ~$25 USD. I'd hold off on the GPU until low end Pascal/Polaris comes out. Use the 4770/5770 until then.

Now the reason for the expensive mobo is so you can overclock your i3 6100 to 4.4+ghz. For that you would need to flash your BIOS to the one from this page. Should be easy since the the 6100 already has a high multiplier of 37. You would only need a base clock of 119 to reach 4.4ghz which would make it perform like an i7 6700k on not so heavily threaded games.

Last edited by manoy385; April 16, 2016 at 11:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2016, 11:11 PM
Kayen's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 706

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by manoy385 View Post
I would replace the following parts:

Motherboard: ASRock Z170A-X1/3.1($148.75 - $30 MIR @ Vuugo)
Memory: GeIL EVO POTENZA 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 ($69.99, $8.99 shipping @ Newegg)
Power Supply: EVGA 500B 80 PLUS BRONZE 500W ($55 - $10 MIR @ Memex, no need for 600W for your build)
SSD: Patriot PBT240GS25SSDR Blast Series 240GB($75 @ NCIX)

For the OS, just move your windows 7/8 install to your new rig then upgrade. If you really must pay for a new copy of 10 then just grab a key off of kinguin for ~$25 USD. I'd hold off on the GPU until low end Pascal/Polaris comes out. Use the 4770/5770 until then.

Now the reason for the expensive mobo is so you can overclock your i3 6100 to 4.4+ghz. For that you would need to flash your BIOS to the one from this page. Should be easy since the the 6100 already has a high multiplier of 37. You would only need a base clock of 119 to reach 4.4ghz which would make it perform like an i7 6700k on not so heavily threaded games.
Already on Windows 10, I can't easily transfer the OS to a new motherboard can i.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2016, 05:17 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,601

My System Specs

Default

I don't agree with holding off on the gpu... there is ALWAYS something coming down the pipe. You can transfer your user files and settings but a new motherboard normally includes new drivers etc. That said I'm not completely up to snuff with windows 10 so their may be an easy way to transfer all this info.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2016, 11:56 AM
Kayen's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 706

My System Specs

Default

So I ended up going ahead with a budget Skylake build.

CPU: Intel Core i3-6100 - $148
Motherboard: Gigabyte H170M-DS3H - $109
Storage: A-DATA SP550 240GB SSD - $70
Memory: Kingston HyperX Fury DDR4 2x4gb 2133mhz - $42
Video Card: EVGA GTX 750ti - $80
PSU: Antec High Current Gamer 620W -$60
Case: NZXT S340 - $80.


Not counting the OS which I still need to pick up a key for, build cost came to roughly $600, and it leaves me alot of room for upgrades down the future - especially since i got a much better PSU than expected, and the Skylake platform looks fantastic especially with ddr4 as well.

Last edited by Kayen; May 10, 2016 at 01:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2016, 08:40 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,601

My System Specs

Default

I wouldnt push that antec psu too hard man. They arent the most reliable.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
upgrade or new build ?? rickbmb New Builds 7 July 8, 2014 08:29 AM
Upgrade Build OhSlowpoke New Builds 16 January 18, 2012 02:19 PM
NEW BUILD vs. UPGRADE HOTDOGS New Builds 15 November 30, 2011 10:27 AM
upgrade/new build timidestemu New Builds 9 January 28, 2011 08:29 AM
Upgrade.... or new build? belinik New Builds 7 September 9, 2010 05:33 AM