Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 17, 2014, 04:21 PM
Rookie

Default First PC Build. Ever. Check My Parts?

Hey all. I'm new to the art of PC building, and looking to build one for a little bit of a summer project (plus I'm tired of my laptop). I've been researching for a little while and compiled a list of the components, and wanted to get some constructive criticism or advice before I buy.

I'll be using the PC for video and graphic editing and rendering, as well as gaming with modern, demanding titles. I tend to run heavy programs together. I don't really have a budget, I just want to keep it reasonable. I'll be buying parts online, from wherever really. I figure with the water cooling I'll be alright with overclocking, but it's not on the top of my list.

Again, I haven't bought any of my parts yet, and keep in mind when reading through this that I have never, ever dabbled in computer building before, so again, constructive criticism welcome

CASE

I'll be using the NZXT H440 case. Still deciding between white or black and blue.

CPU

I'll (naturally) be going for an Intel i7 4770K. I figure going a few extra bucks from the 4770 is worth it in case I decide to overclock.

GPU

I'm thinking of going for the late GeForce GTX 770. The 780 or 780Ti will break the bank a bit too much for me.

RAM

Decided on the G.SKILL Ares Series 16GB 2400 RAM.

MB

I really loved the value, look, and features of the ASRock Z97 Extreme.

STORAGE

A Samsung 840 Evo 120GB SSD for the OS and some programs, and a WD Black 1TB drive for everything else.

PSU

I didn't have a clue when it came to the PSU, do you think the Corsair HX 750W will be enough (or too much)?

COOLING

I'll be leaving the 3 stock fans in the front. The back fan will be replaced with one of the Enermax 120mm Vegas (blue) fans.