Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old June 18, 2014, 09:53 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Thought ypu maybe interested-----this is a build I did in the same Black Pearl Case for my Son in Law awhile ago...:
X58 EATX Classified Evga Mobo
980X
12GB 1600 Mhz Triple Channel RAM
No problem putting in a H100i Closed Loop Cooler...performs very nice, may even be able to put another set of Fans there for "push / pull' if you got a little creative with the EPS12v along the top edge.....mild OC on the 980X @ 4.1 Ghz
SLi 650Ti Boost Cards
If I remember correctly the bottom will take a large PSU as in a AX 1.2 kW no problem (I think as I was discussing SLi 680's at the time and I'm a fan of the 1.2kW ;) You can see there is a ton of room in the bottom of the Case !!!!







If your planning any type of Watercooling in the future I would go with something that can accommodate at minimum a 120.3 Rad up top ;)
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.

Last edited by rjbarker; June 18, 2014 at 09:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old June 18, 2014, 11:29 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Montreal
Posts: 98

My System Specs

Default

That is a very nice build sir!

I might not be able to have the PSU fan facing down as you have, as the bottom fan location is apparently limited to 170mm...

The closed loop water cooler on the CPU looks great! I was thinking of going with an air cooler till I'm ready to overclock but you might have changed my mind. :)

Could you elaborate on what you meant by an extra set of fans for push/pull? The radiator of your cooler doesn't seem to leave much room for additional fans at the top.

Frugalmeister

EDIT: Regarding the PSU, I see that there is definitely room for a larger model. It's just that there is a solid metal "separator" in the way that I'm worried would prevent airflow to the PSU if the fan is facing down.

Last edited by Frugalmeister; June 19, 2014 at 02:15 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2014, 02:13 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Montreal
Posts: 98

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond007 View Post
The gains definitely drop after 1866mhz. If you do want to stay with red here are some options for a bit more money (all <$180) @ 2133mhz:

Corsair Vengeance Pro CMY16GX3M2A2133C11R 16GB 2X8GB DDR3-2133 CL11-11-11-27 1.5V Red Memory Kit - DirectCanada
Thanks for the suggestions Bond007. That Corsair set at DirectCanada is extremely cheap compared to other sites. Before I decide to order though, one question:

The ASUS Maximus VII Hero has the following specification in regards to memory:

3200(OC)/3100(OC)/3000(OC)/2933(OC)/2800(OC)/2666(OC)/2600(OC)/2500(OC)/2400(OC)/2200(OC)/2133(OC)/2000(OC)/1866(OC)/1800(OC)/1600/1333

What does the above actually mean, the fact that only 1600 and 1333 are allowed without overclock? Shouldn't I save some money and get a 1,600 MHz pair I can overclock myself? I'm now wondering if anything higher than 1,600 is just a very expensive, factory-overclocked 1,600.

Frugalmeister
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2014, 02:47 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,764

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frugalmeister View Post
I just got my video card! But I'm wondering if it's actually new... The box was sort of open and I see that the opening of the tinted plastic bag it's in is only sealed with a piece of tape. Shouldn't it be heat-sealed all across? :/

Frugalmeister

EDIT: I just watched an unboxing video. The box was supposed to be wrapped in plastic, and it wasn't. The flap wasn't even in its place. What should I do, if anything, before proceeding?
I would contact the seller and start complaining. You pay for new you get new, you pay for open box you get open box. Generally the static bags are not heat-sealed, they are usually folded with some sticky anti-static bag like tape holding it closed.

Though this varies on manufacturer and product.

For memory speeds, Basically you need to mess with some settings in the bios to get them to run at the higher speeds. The frequency that is on the ram is the rating which they are made to work at and should be tested as such, slower ram may clock but your playing the silicon lottery for a couple of bucks.
__________________
Random quotes:

AKG: "So please don't piss on people and claim its raining. "
Soullessone21: "Their the only fat bitches I ever want in my wife :)"
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2014, 03:38 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Montreal
Posts: 98

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dzzope View Post
I would contact the seller and start complaining. You pay for new you get new, you pay for open box you get open box. Generally the static bags are not heat-sealed, they are usually folded with some sticky anti-static bag like tape holding it closed.

Though this varies on manufacturer and product.
Thank you! I'll write to them once my order from yesterday has been shipped. Don't want my complaining to affect that in any way. :)

Quote:
For memory speeds, Basically you need to mess with some settings in the bios to get them to run at the higher speeds. The frequency that is on the ram is the rating which they are made to work at and should be tested as such, slower ram may clock but your playing the silicon lottery for a couple of bucks.
Ok, I'll spend a few more bucks. :)

Frugalmeister
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2014, 03:49 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Montreal
Posts: 98

My System Specs

Default

RAM and Windows ordered!

Frugalmeister
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2014, 08:31 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,910

My System Specs

Default

Some potential power supplies:

http://www.ncix.com/detail/corsair-r...89918-1215.htm

Or if you really don't mind overkill (because this would be truely overkill):

http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...-mobo-ram.html

1300w EVGA PSU for less than what you will find a 1000w for new. Its very well reviewed:
EVGA Supernova G2 1300W Review

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frugalmeister View Post
The ASUS Maximus VII Hero has the following specification in regards to memory:

3200(OC)/3100(OC)/3000(OC)/2933(OC)/2800(OC)/2666(OC)/2600(OC)/2500(OC)/2400(OC)/2200(OC)/2133(OC)/2000(OC)/1866(OC)/1800(OC)/1600/1333

What does the above actually mean, the fact that only 1600 and 1333 are allowed without overclock
As mentioned, the default max speed for ram is 1600mhz. Anything above that is technically an OC (even if its made to operate at those speeds). You have to go into bios to go above. Usually you just have to select the XMP profile in the bios to get to the rated speeds.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2014, 10:41 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Montreal
Posts: 98

My System Specs

Default

Thanks Bond007, but I've already ordered everything save the CPU and a cooler for it. I went with the EVGA Supernove 1000G2. :)

I'm thinking of going with the Intel i7-4790K when it's (hopefully) released next week. Could someone suggest a cooler that goes with my black-red themed case and components? I am open to either air or water cooling, but I do want to keep things as cool and quiet as possible as I plan to overclock.

Thank you!

Frugalmeister
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2014, 11:25 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Montreal
Posts: 98

My System Specs

Default

I have come across the Phanteks PH-TC14PE, which is looking very nice. It is only a tad louder than the Noctua NH-D14 but I'm willing to trade that for a colour scheme that goes with my case. :) Cooling should be just as good.

What do you guys think? Anything more suitable out there?

Frugalmeister

EDIT: Actually, this might not fit my case, motherboard and RAM. I'll have to really look into this before buying.

Last edited by Frugalmeister; June 21, 2014 at 11:34 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2014, 12:39 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,910

My System Specs

Default

For a cooler I am not sure there is much out there that offer colors for matching. I know good air coolers like the one you posted get great temps for the noise, but personally I am a fan of the bang for buck offered by <$40 air coolers. If you want to invest more than that I would go to an AIO water cooler. Then you have no worries about stress on the motherboard from the CPU cooler weight, or running into issues with RAM.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frugalmeister View Post
Thanks Bond007, but I've already ordered everything save the CPU and a cooler for it. I went with the EVGA Supernove 1000G2. :)
Ah...I missed that you ordered a PSU. The supernova PSUs seem to be getting very good reviews (the other EVGA ones are more average).
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gaming... Laptop? Ew? Bear with me, life advice needed! D4ng3r New Builds 5 April 4, 2012 12:20 PM
New-ish build specific advice needed! fearm3now New Builds 2 February 9, 2012 02:34 PM
Build advice needed jevehn HTPC Systems & Software 1 June 16, 2010 04:53 AM
New gaming rig advice needed! Massacah New Builds 18 March 30, 2010 10:33 PM
New Build Advice Needed (mobo + hd + cpu for under $250???) cb2222 New Builds 7 January 12, 2010 05:23 PM