Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old May 16, 2014, 06:56 AM
Lamb's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 813

My System Specs

Default

The Overkill Office PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond007 View Post
I would have done the same if it was my money (ditching bluray and putting the money towards a better CPU is a good call in my mind). An i5 is overkill for his uses, but it will last him a LONG time if that's all he ever uses it for.
I can understand he wanted the more powerful processor - he's used to work with powerful PC at his work office even through it's just for office stuff... But he does want the PC to last a while, at least 6 years or more. I may try to get him into PC gaming with that kind of configuration; he's one decent GPU away from playing with the master race . I remember when I used to pay >3k$ to get a fraction of that computing power....

Last edited by Lamb; May 16, 2014 at 07:03 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old May 16, 2014, 06:59 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,493

My System Specs

Default

Why 1X8G vice 2X4?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old May 16, 2014, 07:07 AM
Lamb's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 813

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Why 1X8G vice 2X4?
Is there much of a difference between the two? I switched things from the build MARSTG did and probably left it at that for no apparent reason...
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old May 16, 2014, 07:19 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,507

My System Specs

Default

in one review that i read for the AM1 platform, the test rig exhibited some issues when using 2 dimms, issues that were not present when using just one.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old May 16, 2014, 08:14 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,586

My System Specs

Default

That's because the AM1 is single channel, so technically having one RAM stick would be more beneficial then two.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old May 16, 2014, 08:17 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,493

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lamb View Post
Is there much of a difference between the two? I switched things from the build MARSTG did and probably left it at that for no apparent reason...
I don't have any benchmarks on hand, but I'd assume that a platform which supports dual channel will benefit from it otherwise why would they bother?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old May 16, 2014, 08:45 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,664
Default

It supports dual DIMMs but it won't run in dual channel mode. The issue really comes down to memory space addressing and allocation across two slots using a single-channel controller, particularly when using higher speed modules. If you remember, some of the early single channel CPUs exhibited the same issue back in the SDR days.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old May 16, 2014, 08:46 AM
Lamb's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 813

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
I don't have any benchmarks on hand, but I'd assume that a platform which supports dual channel will benefit from it otherwise why would they bother?
I read they're may be a performance difference of about <5% in general for single-channel vs dual-channel, I don't think he'll even notice the difference doing some office work...
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old May 16, 2014, 08:59 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,881

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lamb View Post
I read they're may be a performance difference of about <5% in general for single-channel vs dual-channel, I don't think he'll even notice the difference doing some office work...
No probably not, but if you haven't ordered yet I would get 2x4gb vice 1x8gb if you are going with the 1150 platform (he won't notice the difference, but if you can get a few % improvement for no added cost, then why not). For AM1 I would get a single stick.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old May 16, 2014, 09:05 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,881

My System Specs

Default

Forgot to mention the one thing I would change in that build is the motherboard. Its a great motherboard, but completely overkill with that CPU and the computers uses. You can get a MOB atleast $50-60 cheaper that will have every feature he will need and more.

And if he ever does decide he wants to start gaming that PC running a 750 Ti would be a great setup (and would run without any issues at on the 380w PSU).
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A brother for Deux? 3.0charlie HardwareCanucks F@H Team 22 January 27, 2012 09:29 AM
brother computer CTA New Builds 11 December 22, 2010 06:38 PM
Input on rig for my brother Waldie New Builds 35 February 19, 2010 06:17 PM
New build for my brother.. Realityshift New Builds 7 July 17, 2009 07:26 PM
Big brother wants a closer look 3 of 7 Off Topic 14 June 22, 2009 04:59 PM