Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 12, 2014, 10:00 AM
Rookie

Default Ultra quiet audio recording workstation

Hello everyone,

I'm a music producer and I'm replacing my 10 year old C3 Music XPC computer. It's served me well over the years but I would like to build something more up to date. I have never bolted together a computer system from scratch. Any advice would be most welcome.

1. The main purpose for this computer will be audio recording and production. It needs to be super silent. It needs to be quiet enough to run a sensitive condenser microphone in the room without picking up any noise. This system will also be used for some photo and video editing. I'm hoping to start with 4 or 8GB of ram and to be able to upgrade.

2. I'm hoping to put this system together for around $1000.

3. I live in Toronto Canada.

4. I'm hoping to go the Windows 7 64 bit route. I imagine I would like to use a Core i5 processor with four true cores. I don't need hyper threading.

5. I'm intending to use these current parts; HP ZR24w monitor, 2 SATA hard drives, Delta 1010 PCI card. I will probably use my GeForce 6200 video card unless a significantly superior fanless video card is suggested. I would like to use my Pioneer DVD-RW DVR-116D burner.

6. I would like to build this system in an acoustically quiet case. I like the idea of being able to adjust the fanspeeds for optimal silence/cooling performance.

7. I'm not planning to overclock this system

8. I'm planning to put it together this month.

9. This system will probably not be used for gaming. My monitor is 1920 x 1200.