Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
View Poll Results: what option?
Older high end graphics card 1 11.11%
Newer lower end graphics card 5 55.56%
New HTPC system 3 33.33%
Voters: 9. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2014, 10:59 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,509

My System Specs

Default HTPC system

Here is my situation : my wife's machine is a C2D E8500 with 4 GB of RAM, SSD and 2 large HDDS for storage, video is done by a Radeon HD 5770 hooked by HDMI to the TV, a 55" Samsung LED. Recently we had a nasty accident, when a surge has traveled on the HDMI cable and took out the TV and the graphics card with it (another Radeon HD 5770, an Asus implementation). Luckily the TV was on an extended warranty from Costco and we had it repaired for free, otherwise it would have been around 450$. So I am looking presently at some solutions to rectify this issue in the future, preventing it from happening. What she s doing on that PC is just a lot of browsing, Flash games on Facebook are the most intensive CPU tasks, and a lot of movies, we have different formats, and use VLC always. The TV receives HDMI connections from PC and the TV receiver then it goes by SPDIF out to the sound system, so it is very easy for us to just change the TV source, and we have sound everywhere.
The solutions that I am thinking would be to get a used card, but from a recent generation, like a Radeon HD 7750 and just replace the existing 5770, this a Powercolor implementation with one of those over-sized fan. My current graphics card on my system is a GTX460 from EVGA, that is quite solid, a SSC model that has even a backplate. If I am looking for a used videocard, should it be a more recent generation entry level model, or something older high end?
The other solution I am thinking at would be to put together a new HTPC system, I am thinking a lot at the Pentium G3220 and a cheap LGA1150 mobo. We need audio over HDMI and the present system cannot do that without a discrete graphics card. I have had a pleasant experience with the Intel HD graphics from Pentium G2020 and the HD4000 from Core i3 3225 and this would also address our issue transmitting the sound over HDMI.
What do you advise me?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2014, 11:27 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,353

My System Specs

Default

hmm well I doubt you need anything new , really , I use my AMD system mostly for Movies and other videos via XBMC and a remote I also use it for allot of email and net stuff Forum search reading . anyway this system is way way over kill since it is my 1100t AMD cpu and a 7770 ATI card hooked up ( VIA HDMI cable) to a 27"LCD TV , I have no problems at all watching or doing any thing, hell I even game with this system at times . I don't think that you would need to upgrade anything at all unless you have problems with noise or very very energy wise. My system is quiet the only noises I hear is my old exhaust fan has an almost silent vibration and the my green 2 TB harddrive sometimes makes a but of noise but my system is pretty quiet
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2014, 03:22 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,887

My System Specs

Default

Given you have no intensive uses for the computer I would go for a graphics card and call it a day. Obviously if you want to build a new system this is a good time, but I don't think it's needed. I voted new lower end, but really a used 7750/7770 would be great. From what I have read amd tend to do better for colors etc for htpc.

Edit : Or if it's likely only going to be a htpc, then an amd a8 or a10 65watt APU for a new build is what I would do.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb

Last edited by Bond007; April 20, 2014 at 03:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2014, 03:44 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,509

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond007 View Post
Edit : Or if it's likely only going to be a htpc, then an amd a8 or a10 65watt APU for a new build is what I would do.
I am afraid to use AMD APU, I don't know how it does this kind of job at Flash games. The Pentium has an L3 cache onboard CPU that can be used by the IGP, while the AMD APU has to address the memory, and I would also need faster ram.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2014, 10:48 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ontario
Posts: 37

My System Specs

Default

Find a new passively cooled graphics card...really anything 6450+/630+ should be more than enough to drive an HTPC/1080 setup. $50-60 and you are done.

Take the money you've saved and buy yourself an R9 280+/770+. Reward for a job well done

As for using an FMx APU for Flash games....it won't have any issues.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2014, 11:03 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,509

My System Specs

Default

I found a a Radeon HD 7770, the MSI Power Edition with some beefed up components and I am going after it.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2014, 02:14 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,887

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MARSTG View Post
I found a a Radeon HD 7770, the MSI Power Edition with some beefed up components and I am going after it.
Nice. As I said before its overkill for your uses, but better to have a bit too much then not enough. New or used?
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2014, 03:42 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,509

My System Specs

Default

Used.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2014, 04:39 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,490

My System Specs

Default

Im quite sure if intels onboard i7 4770 GPU can handle Diablo 3 at 1080p that the APU solution will be able to play flash games...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2014, 10:06 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,509

My System Specs

Default

I solved the issue by moving the GTX460 on the system with the big TV, and as I sold my desktop, for the moment I fell back on a Lenovo T61p laptop. I must say that I am impressed so far with this laptop, very good sound card, ADI Sound MAX and a Quadro FX570M (seems to be based on a 8600GTS) and 4GB RAM. For those wondering, my WEI is 3.9, given by the CPU. Graphics card generates 6.1. Will be building another system soon based on a core 2 duo E7200 where I will use the Radeon 5770. My father is coming to visit us for the summer so he will get the laptop and I will get the new desktop.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
urgent!! boot priority randomly changed, and system cant find operating system! FLATLANDRIDER O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 April 7, 2012 01:40 PM
Which system for HTPC??? biff HTPC Systems & Software 3 February 22, 2010 10:38 AM
HTPC system martin_metal_88 New Builds 1 July 22, 2009 02:13 PM
Is linux a good choice for an HTPC system? quikgp HTPC Systems & Software 6 April 28, 2009 06:17 PM
good operating system for HTPC? quikgp HTPC Systems & Software 9 April 28, 2009 01:10 PM