Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 14, 2013, 01:59 PM
Rookie

Default First Gaming Desktop Build.

Hello fine folks of hardwarecanucks.com.

I am a first time PC builder and I admit I am very green to the technology surrounding PC hardware. I do know the basic terminology but still need some good feedback from experienced builders. I am currently looking at my first gaming build and I would like to do it within a budget of $2000 Canadian total including shipping, taxes, etc. I am willing to go a few dollars over the 2K mark but not by much. Say over $100 more at most. I would hope to get a rig that is high end for at least a couple of years. I know nothing is ever truly "futureproof" but I would like to get enough bang for my buck for awhile before upgrading. I am also looking to get something that is modular so I can replace big ticket components like the CPU, GPU, Motherboard, etc without having to get a whole new machine when upgrading.

As indicated I wish to use this computer primarily for gaming as high end as possible. However other roles that are no less important are watching films and shows, school/office use and file storage. While I have a laptop for most of those secondary roles it could very well blow up on me one day. Besides said laptop does not have a bluray optical drive which is what I am hoping to include in my desktop build. As for overclocking I would like to have the capability to modestly overclock without the risk of damaging my video card or other components. I am not adverse either to liquid cooling but would like to go without full fledged liquid cooling for now. My resolutions are not too demanding as I have a basic monitor; a BenQ 24 inch GL2450 at 1920x1080.