Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 2, 2013, 06:39 AM
Rookie

My System Specs

Default Good Enough Gaming Rig

I'm new to the forum. I have been reading the reviews for quite some time. I have been building computers for over 10 years now. I do already have some parts just looking to build a rig that will handle games like Marvel Hereos, Rome II, Civ V and WoW.

Here is the list of parts I have now.

AMD A10-6800K 4.1GHz
EVGA GTX 560 Ti 2Win (Dual GTX 560 Ti's on one card)
Intel 520 128GB SSD
Asus 16x DVD-RW
Corair 350D

For a motherboard I was thinking about getting the Asus A88XM-Plus once it's available. I may or not may overclock the CPU. I am pretty sure this board you can get a decent overclock.

Memory wise I was going to get 8GB of G.Skill Ares (Orange) DDR3-2133MHz

Powersupply I want a fully modular one and was leaning towards a Corsair AX850. I plan on making my own cables with 18 gauge automotive wire, getting the pins from Dazmode, connectors from FrozenCPU and the sleeving from Nils.

As for a hard drive. I might get one later on but with only loading an OS a few games I don't think I will really need one as this will strictly be for gaming.

For the parts I was thinking of getting how does that sound?
Old October 2, 2013, 07:45 AM
MVP

My System Specs

I game on an AMD A10-5800K and it is definitely "good enough" for my needs (I'm into racing games and flight sims, but from my limited gaming knowledge I don't think your games would tax your system).

I've got it on an ASUS A85M-Pro and find it easy to use and it has simplified OCing. I like ASUS's fan control system too.