Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 8, 2013, 05:51 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
Default need help please (URGENT)

hi , im building a pc, i already ordered this:

motherboard:ASUS Maximus VI Hero ATX LGA1150 Z87 3PCI-E16 3PCI DDR3 SATA3 USB3.0 CrossFireX/SLI HDMI Motherboard - DirectCanada

GPU:Newegg.ca - ASUS GTX680-DC2O-2GD5 GeForce GTX 680 2GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card

and i was thinking about putting two geforce gtx 680 with this motherboard, but the videocards looks kinda to huge to fit, im kinda thinking not even one will fit, can someone confirm that at least one fit? and should i put two?

Do you think its possible to put two gtx 680 , also is it recommended since the board is kinda made for this

thank you

urgent :0

Last edited by adamrobert; August 8, 2013 at 06:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 8, 2013, 06:28 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
Default

well anyways.. i bought this:

motherboard:ASUS Maximus VI Hero ATX LGA1150 Z87 3PCI-E16 3PCI DDR3 SATA3 USB3.0 CrossFireX/SLI HDMI Motherboard - DirectCanada

GPU:Newegg.ca - ASUS GTX680-DC2O-2GD5 GeForce GTX 680 2GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card

and it looks kinda huge for the motherboard... I was thinking about adding one more gtx 680 to it, but i dont even think one will fit..

can someone confirm at least one will fit, and can i put another one?? thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 8, 2013, 07:01 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,068

My System Specs

Default

I don't see any reason why two of them wouldn't fit.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2013, 08:47 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 36
Default

what about your case....make sure the vid cards fit in your case!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2013, 09:18 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Should fit fine as long as you dont have any clearance issues in your case.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2013, 12:02 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Waterloo
Posts: 12

My System Specs

Default

It will fit. However, check your case for clearance issues, and you won't be able to use your pci and pcie slots since they'll be covered.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2013, 12:11 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 646

My System Specs

Default

Are you guys sure they'll both fit in the red pcie slots? I can't tell if the spacing is a triple spacing between the two red slots or a double.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2013, 12:44 AM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Anjou, QC. Canada
Posts: 1
Default

It is a 3 slot card one will fit but if you put 2 than you will not have any more free slots.
It is a huge card.
You could look at this one has an alternative:
Newegg.ca - ASUS GTX770-DC2OC-2GD5 GeForce GTX 770 2GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card

Faster and better performance on a 2 slots heatsink.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2013, 08:24 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Brampton, Ontario
Posts: 77

My System Specs

Default

It looks like a triple to me. The spacing between the second red and the black at the bottom is a double, and the two reds are further apart.
__________________
Personal Rig: See System Specs
HTPC: Pentium G3420, MSI H81i, 4GB G-Skill DDR3 1333, GeForce 650, 400GB Recertified Seagate, 1TB WD Caviar Green, 750GB WD Caviar Blue 2.5", Cooler Master Elite 120 Advanced, Windows 7 x64, 32" Seiki LCD TV, Panasonic SA-HE75 5.1 Reciever
9x Gamer: eMachines eOne - 433 Mhz Celeron, 64 MB RAM, 8MB ATI Rage XL, 6GB HDD, Windows 98se
9x Gamer #2: 500 Mhz Pentium III, 512MB Ram, nVidia Geforce 5600, 20GB HDD, Windows ME
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] Urgent !!! Local Toronto - Need 2 -1/2in Barbs !!! Urgent mattlef Buy/Sell & Trade 0 April 3, 2011 05:44 PM
URGENT HELP WITH MY CPU!!! NineLives Troubleshooting 18 July 13, 2010 12:18 AM
Urgent Message Arinoth Off Topic 11 September 16, 2009 01:55 PM
urgent help needed Cowboy Troubleshooting 7 August 2, 2009 09:29 PM
Far Cry 2 Urgent Help Plz arekieh Gaming 10 October 27, 2008 04:31 PM