Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old July 31, 2013, 06:46 PM
Rookie

Default Complete newbie looking for build advice

1. What YOUR PC will be used for.
Primarily gaming and streaming video, but there will also be ripping of videos via HandBrake, sound editing via Audacity and hopefully some light Photoshop. Also, I plan on doing things like Skype, Google Hangouts and the like. Gaming may be an FPS or two, but will primarily be RPGs and MMOs.

2. What YOUR budget is.
$2000 max, including taxes and shipping (to Ottawa, Canada), although I am not hell-bent on spending up to that limit.

3. What country YOU will be buying YOUR parts from.
Canada

4. IF YOU have a brand preference.
I would prefer Intel.

5. If YOU intend on using any of YOUR current parts, and if so, what those parts are.
I have Windows 7 Professional 32-Bit, but I do not know if it will work on a modern system. If yes, great, if not, I need an OS.

6. IF YOU have searched and/or read similar threads.
I have looked around other places, but most threads are based in the US and have US prices and availability. I would like something more specific to Canadian prices. I don't know enough to know what is good advice, what is bad advice, or how to know what can be dropped down in order to upgrade something else.

7. IF YOU plan on overclocking or run the system at default speeds.
Overclocking will be done, but only as a way of extending the lifespan or future-proofing. It is not necessary, and I have absosmurfly no experience overclocking, and I am not particularly interested in learning the ins and outs of overclocking. If there is one-button overclocking, that would be awesome.

8. WHEN do you plan to build it?
I plan on purchasing in the next month or so and building shortly thereafter.

9. What resolution and settings do you use?