Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2013, 05:50 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 9
Unhappy Help a Complete Noob!

So, I'm in the final stages of my build and just wanted a second opinion to see if all the parts are compatible before ordering them.
It's exactly the specs I need, but I just need to be 100% sure that everything will work with everything.

Motherboard: Asus P8H77-V Socket 1155
CPU: Intel i5-3350P, 3rd Gen Socket 1155
Tower: Cooler Master Centurion 6 (Midi-Tower)
GPU: Asus GeForce GTX650TiB
PSU: Cooler Master B600 (600w)
RAM: 2 x Kingston 4GB PC-12800 DIMM DDR3, 1600MHz, 1.5v, CL11 (what even is CL11?)
Wireless Card: Asus PCE-N53

Keep in mind that I'll be using my old HDD and CD/DVD Drive from my current PC (which I did not build), and I already have some Thermal Paste.
Is there anything I'm missing? Have I made some fatal mistake that will break everything?
Also; what do I need in terms of cables? Are cables included or...?
Attached Images
   
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2013, 06:48 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 13

My System Specs

Default

Hmmm....
Well you dont need any cables except a dvi/hdmi/vga/displayport cable for your monitor (if the videocard dosnt come with one). If your on a lower budget you should look into amd´s processors. But overall I cant see anything that wouldnt work.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2013, 06:52 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Higuel View Post
Hmmm....
Well you dont need any cables except a dvi/hdmi/vga/displayport cable for your monitor (if the videocard dosnt come with one). If your on a lower budget you should look into amd´s processors. But overall I cant see anything that wouldnt work.
Thank you so much! I had a look at the AMD processors, and it did work out cheaper for a hexa-core processor as opposed to an i5, but I've looked at the benchmark tests, and this i5 does better than a hexa-core AMD processor.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2013, 07:05 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 13

My System Specs

Default

You can overclock every amd cpu, but with intel its only possible with the unlocked cpu´s. That would give you some headroom in the future. Also you dont need thermal paste. Intel´s stock cooler comes with it pre-applied. If this is your first build i suggest watching a tutorial on youtube. Neweggtv has a good three part series. :)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2013, 07:08 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Higuel View Post
You can overclock every amd cpu, but with intel its only possible with the unlocked cpu´s. That would give you some headroom in the future. Also you dont need thermal paste. Intel´s stock cooler comes with it pre-applied. If this is your first build i suggest watching a tutorial on youtube. Neweggtv has a good three part series. :)
Does absolutely every single Intel Core come with it pre applied? For this particular model it's not stating if it does or does not have it.
I've been watching videos all morning, which is how I found this site :D
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2013, 07:11 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 13

My System Specs

Default

Intel Core i5-3550 CPU Review - YouTube
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2013, 07:34 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,210

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anorexemon View Post
Does absolutely every single Intel Core come with it pre applied? For this particular model it's not stating if it does or does not have it.
I've been watching videos all morning, which is how I found this site :D
Yes, the stock cooler will come with TIM pre-applied.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2013, 07:36 AM
howpet's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Peterborough On
Posts: 254

My System Specs

Default

Only thing I would add or change is the case. I"ve found that vented side panels are a real pain for sucking dust. A couple filters could cure that though if you can find something like these:
Newegg.ca - Computer Hardware, Computer Cases, Case Accessories, Silverstone
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2013, 08:31 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 9
Default

Thank you all so much for your help, I've placed my order!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
first build , first time , noob

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Complete Noob need advise Ryoohki Water Cooling 2 April 7, 2010 08:01 AM
Can some one help a noob with SSD fire_storm Storage 17 August 2, 2009 11:52 AM
[WTB] I am a noob and i need some help :D eltiti55555 Buy/Sell & Trade 16 March 9, 2009 01:02 PM
Complete Noob Needs Help Trevor Water Cooling 10 February 21, 2009 05:18 PM
complete noob at WC...need help... lukaszr Water Cooling 12 July 31, 2008 10:13 PM