Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2013, 01:02 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 26
Default A new PC!

So my computer is around 3 years old now and I've been thinking it's time for an upgrade as I've started to notice some slowdown under certain circumstances. I haven't really kept up with newer technologies coming out so I'm just doing my reading now, but any suggestions you guys could point me towards would be great.
My last computer build was also with the help of everyone here and it turned out great :)
I'll post a list of the parts I've currently got in my system:

EVGA X58 ATX LGA1366 DDR3 3PCIE-16 PCI-E1 2PCI SLI SATA2 eSATA Dual GBLAN Motherboard [132-BL-E758-A1]
Intel Core i7 920 D0 Stepping Quad Core Processor LGA1366 2.66GHZ Bloomfield 8MB LGA1366 -SLBEJ- [BX80601920 - D0]
OCZ Gold OCZ3G1600LV6GK 6GB DDR3 3X2GB DDR3-1600 PC3-12800 CL 8-8-8-24 Triple Channel Memory Kit [OCZ3G1600LV6GK] (Actually upgraded, and I have 12 gb of this ram, currently).
Coolermaster Hyper 212 Plus Direct Touch 4 Heatpipe Heatsink AM2 AM3 LGA1366
Cooler Master Haf 932 Full Tower Black EATX Case 6X5.25 1X3.5 5X3.5INT No PSU USB eSATA 1394 Audio
Corsair Professional HX850W 850W ATX 12V 70A 24PIN ATX Modular Power Supply Active PFC 140MM Fan
Samsung SH-S222A/BEBE 22X Dual Layer DVD Writer Black IDE OEM
Western Digital Caviar Black 640GB 7200RPM 32MB Dual Proc 3.5IN SATA Hard Drive OEM 5YR
And for a video card I've got a GTX 670 in there. I'm thinking I'll likely just take this out of my current computer and swap it into the next one, unless someone thinks it's really out of date. Then I can just put my old ATI 5870 back in this one and use it for...company, or backup, or any other number of uses.


1. What YOUR PC will be used for:
Okay so my main use for the pc is photoshop. I'm a freelance artist and this is what's prompting me to upgrade really. I'm starting to notice slowdown at larger file sizes and higher DPI. That being said I'm sure the occasional game will find it's way on to the computer, it's just not a main concern.

2. What YOUR budget is:
For a budget I'm thinking around 1400-1600 but I can go higher if it's warranted. I don't need a monitor and like I said above I'll probably re use the 670.

3. What country YOU will be buying YOUR parts from:
Canada

4. IF YOU have a brand preference:
Intel CPU unless someone makes a REALLY good case. I've had both style of video card, a bunch of different types of ram, motherboards, etc etc.

5. If YOU intend on using any of YOUR current parts, and if so, what those parts are:
I'll be reusing the video card (GTX 670) unless, again, someone makes a real good case not to. My monitor is also staying, so nothing new needed there. Mouse and keyboard also staying.

6. IF YOU have searched and/or read similar threads:
I've looked through a couple of threads, but I keep finding things more for the 3D side of the industry. Nothing really towards the 2D side. I do a little 3D now and then, but not enough to warrant getting a workstation card, such as a quadro. Been reading up on new processors, and ram, and video cards. Currently in the process of all this.


7. IF YOU plan on overclocking or run the system at default speeds:
I might overclock slightly. I bumped my current processor up because there was no reason not to, and I just went with a mild overclock to...3.3 or 3.4ghz up from 2.6. Not really huge into that, but again, if there is no risk or hassle, no reason not to get the extra performance.


8. WHEN do you plan to build it:
I'll probably look at building it within a couple of weeks, maybe a month.

9. What resolution and settings do you use?
Standard 1080p has served me well enough, and I haven't really felt the need to go higher. I like to have max, or at least very high settings in any games I play.

10. Are there any specific technologies you want?
Nothing I can really think of. Definitely thinking at least a SSD though.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2013, 01:16 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,969

My System Specs

Default

I would say just buy a SSD and see if that resolves your performance issues. I can't see changing out the CPU/Motherboard being overly beneficial as the i7 920 is still pretty fast.

If the SSD alone isn't enough, then you can look at replacing everything.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2013, 01:24 PM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,210

My System Specs

Default

Intel 4770K - $359.99
MSI Z87-G45 Gaming - $164.99
G.Skill RipjawsX 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 1600Mhz - $133.98
Corsair Hydro H80i - $99.99
Samsung 840 Pro Series 256GB SSD - $269.99
Seagate Barracuda 3TB 7200RPM HDD - $119.99
Corsair HX750 ATX Fully Modular Power Supply 80Plus Gold - $169.99
Corsair Obsidian 650D Mid Tower Case - $169.99

Total: $1488.91 + taxes & shipping.

If, after you've tried an SSD you still want a full build, the above should suffice...
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2013, 02:14 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 26
Default

Yeah I forgot to mention I had already upgraded to a SSD in this computer. I'd be looking at going for as much ram as I can cram into the tower also, as it's dirt cheap (compared to the old days anyways) and photoshop can eat whatever you throw at it.
Any particular reason for the hydro cooler? I'm weary about water cooling in general, but is it needed for stock or just above stock cpu temps?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2013, 02:32 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,969

My System Specs

Default

LGA1150 will top out at 32GB of RAM, if you want more, you should consider LGA2011 instead. Then you can run 64GB.

And those watercooling units are all factory-sealed so they're maintenance free and pretty safe. They usually offer better temperatures and less noise compared to heatsinks.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2013, 02:36 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 26
Default

Really? The mobo specs on that one list it as a max of 64gb. Think that is a mistake? I mean there are only 4 dimm slots, so I'd likely stick with 32gb anyways, but the option to go higher is never bad.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2013, 03:02 PM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,210

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ssandulak View Post
Yeah I forgot to mention I had already upgraded to a SSD in this computer. I'd be looking at going for as much ram as I can cram into the tower also, as it's dirt cheap (compared to the old days anyways) and photoshop can eat whatever you throw at it.
Any particular reason for the hydro cooler? I'm weary about water cooling in general, but is it needed for stock or just above stock cpu temps?
The H80i is because you want to overclock. Haswell seems to heat up quite a lot even with a mid-range overclock. AIO coolers tend to work more efficiently than their massive air-cooling counterparts, and have the benefit of exhausting heat outside the case. This particular one is also very quiet. AIO's are very safe, too. They are maintenance free, and the instance of leaks is very, very low.

Grab another 16GB of the same ram that I listed, then you'll have 32GB :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ssandulak View Post
Really? The mobo specs on that one list it as a max of 64gb. Think that is a mistake? I mean there are only 4 dimm slots, so I'd likely stick with 32gb anyways, but the option to go higher is never bad.
You'd be looking at quite a lot more money to go with an LGA2011 system in order to have the 'option' of more RAM. The Intel core i7 3820 is typically about $320 - $340 (and is I think slower overall than the 4770K), while a motherboard would run you about $300 - $350. IMO, really not worth it, unless you plan on running a large amount of video cards.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2013, 03:22 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 26
Default

Yeah I don't think it'd be worth it for the option I suppose. Still those mobos only support 32gb, even though it says 64gb max? Also thanks for the reassurance on the water cooling...sounds like a good idea. Samsung SSD just a personal preference? Also, the case, any particular advantages? Good air flow? I'm pretty happy with my HAF 932 I used on my last system (and it doubles as a really heavy object I could bludgeon someone to death with).
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2013, 03:51 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,969

My System Specs

Default

As per another thread, I would avoid Samsung SSD's in Canada since they lack warranty.

As for the motherboard specs saying it supports 64GB, yes it does, if you happen to find 16GB DIMM's. Currently I don't think those exist, at least not at a consumer level.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2013, 04:42 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 26
Default

Yeah I figured as much, wouldn't be worth the cost anyways, imo.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes