Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2013, 06:55 AM
krazyups's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: McGregor, Ontario
Posts: 277

My System Specs

Default MSI MB + SSD problem

Hey Guys,

This has been driving me nuts for the past few days: I recently bought an FM2-A75MA-E35 motherboard + A6 5400K to build up a system for my sister-in-law's new startup business. I decided to pair it with an Adata SX900 128Gb drive since it fell within the budget, however I'm running into problems installing Windows 7 on it.

I've updated the bios to version 1.7, downloaded the latest drivers from the MSI site, but no matter what I do, I can't get the install to see the drive. I can diskpart to it, clean it, partition it, format it ... everything, except install windows on it .

Please help before I lose what little hair I have left!

-steve
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2013, 08:11 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Brampton, Ontario
Posts: 62

My System Specs

Default

Couple of ideas - I might be right off the mark here - check to make sure the Bios isn't set to make the SSD run under a RAID controller, and also for good measure try plugging it into a different SATA port on the motherboard.
__________________
Personal Rig: See System Specs
HTPC: Pentium G3420, MSI H81i, 4GB G-Skill DDR3 1333, GeForce 650, 400GB Recertified Seagate, 1TB WD Caviar Green, 750GB WD Caviar Blue 2.5", Cooler Master Elite 120 Advanced, Windows 7 x64, 32" Seiki LCD TV, Panasonic SA-HE75 5.1 Reciever
9x Gamer: eMachines eOne - 433 Mhz Celeron, 64 MB RAM, 8MB ATI Rage XL, 6GB HDD, Windows 98se
9x Gamer #2: 500 Mhz Pentium III, 512MB Ram, nVidia Geforce 5600, 20GB HDD, Windows ME
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2013, 09:35 AM
krazyups's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: McGregor, Ontario
Posts: 277

My System Specs

Default

Good suggestions, I did check both of those things, the Bios is set for AHCI mode, and I did switch it from SATA port 6 to 1 since I thought maybe there was a preference. I'm leaning towards the SSD being the issue, because I did try to install windows on it from my main machine (Intel based system in my system specs), and it wouldn't see it either. I selected the proper driver from the motherboard disc, to no avail.

In both install cases I was attempting to install windows from a bootable 32GB Mushking Ventura pro USB stick (no DVD drive on the sister-in-laws computer since it's not needed), but it doesn't look like that's the issue.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2013, 10:05 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Brampton, Ontario
Posts: 62

My System Specs

Default

It is possible, though quite unlikely, that the USB drive is the issue. I have had issues with certain computers simply not liking installing OS's from USB. Though in this case you've tried on two distinct systems with no success, so I'm leaning towards the SSD being the culprit. Would it be possible to temporarily connect a DVD drive to attempt the install?
__________________
Personal Rig: See System Specs
HTPC: Pentium G3420, MSI H81i, 4GB G-Skill DDR3 1333, GeForce 650, 400GB Recertified Seagate, 1TB WD Caviar Green, 750GB WD Caviar Blue 2.5", Cooler Master Elite 120 Advanced, Windows 7 x64, 32" Seiki LCD TV, Panasonic SA-HE75 5.1 Reciever
9x Gamer: eMachines eOne - 433 Mhz Celeron, 64 MB RAM, 8MB ATI Rage XL, 6GB HDD, Windows 98se
9x Gamer #2: 500 Mhz Pentium III, 512MB Ram, nVidia Geforce 5600, 20GB HDD, Windows ME
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2013, 10:13 AM
krazyups's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: McGregor, Ontario
Posts: 277

My System Specs

Default

Yes, I've got a DVD drive on my main machine, and a known good copy of windows 7. I'll try that and be back in a bit ...


EDIT: Ok, apparently I don't know how to make a bootable usb , installing from the DVD drive on my machine worked fine. I can't believe that I talked myself out of trying that in the first place, but I'll chalk it up to a learning experience.

Thanks for the help.
__________________

Last edited by krazyups; June 2, 2013 at 11:39 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2013, 11:59 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 52
Default

I hate to admit it but I too have made the same mistake... except my USB wouldn't boot at all

Glad you got it fixed, I guess it goes to show that it's always wise to check even the simplest of things.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2013, 12:11 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Brampton, Ontario
Posts: 62

My System Specs

Default

Not a problem. My main desktop is notorious for giving me missing bootmgr errors booting from USB. Sometimes technology just hates to conform to what it's supposed to do.
__________________
Personal Rig: See System Specs
HTPC: Pentium G3420, MSI H81i, 4GB G-Skill DDR3 1333, GeForce 650, 400GB Recertified Seagate, 1TB WD Caviar Green, 750GB WD Caviar Blue 2.5", Cooler Master Elite 120 Advanced, Windows 7 x64, 32" Seiki LCD TV, Panasonic SA-HE75 5.1 Reciever
9x Gamer: eMachines eOne - 433 Mhz Celeron, 64 MB RAM, 8MB ATI Rage XL, 6GB HDD, Windows 98se
9x Gamer #2: 500 Mhz Pentium III, 512MB Ram, nVidia Geforce 5600, 20GB HDD, Windows ME
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Could a hardware problem cause a driver problem? LaughingCrow Troubleshooting 4 January 19, 2012 10:46 AM
Steam connection problem (Problem Fixed) great_big_abyss Gaming 3 January 10, 2012 04:37 PM
Hard drive problem or Windows 7 Problem?! aeminence New Builds 4 October 13, 2011 06:46 AM
could this be a game problem or a video driver problem? Shadowmeph Troubleshooting 4 December 17, 2010 06:01 AM
Hardware problem or HAL problem? andynerd Troubleshooting 1 March 7, 2009 08:03 PM