Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old May 23, 2013, 08:07 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,229

My System Specs


Originally Posted by Lalji View Post
Yeah, I'm worried that the Atom won't be able to handle the load or might slow down. To be honest, I didn't think it supported all those things you mentioned such as HTTP, FTP, SQL, LDAP, VPN, etc .
I think the only issue would be if you need to transcode media. Otherwise the Atom should be fine.

Originally Posted by Lalji View Post
Why do you say I'd be limited to 112MB/s?
That's the limit of Gigabit Ethernet.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old May 23, 2013, 08:39 PM
Top Prospect
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ontario
Posts: 62

My System Specs


Why not go for something like an HP Proliant Microserver?

and if you can wait a month or 2 a Sandy Bridge Celeron/Pentium powered version is coming, end of June(ish).

Save yourself a boatload of cash, and space.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old May 23, 2013, 09:58 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,313

My System Specs


Originally Posted by Lalji View Post
Yeah, that was probably my biggest concern. I just don't know what the requirements would be and what I should or should not get. Why do you say I'd be limited to 112MB/s?

Could you suggest lower priced alternatives?
I myself use:

2x4GB of some sort of ram.
Either a 40GB X25-V or an 80GB X25-M (honestly can't remember )
LSI 9211-8i SAS HBA.
1 x 4TB, 7x3TB, 2x2TB.
450W Silverstone (which is way overkill, I've never seen the system use more than 150W).

I use Windows 8 w/ a Drive Bender storage pool. A storage pool works better in my situtation since I upgrade drives a lot. I don't want to have to start a new array whenever larger drives become available to me. I also use Windows 8 since it supports SMB mutipath, which allows the use of more than one NIC so in theory you can get 225MB/s w/ two NICs. Although both the server and clients would need to be running Windows 8 as well.

I would highly suggest looking at RAID cards from eBay or similar. You can generally find server pulls for 1/2 to 1/4 the price of a new card. I can't help you w/ models as I haven't done RAID5 in years.
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old June 14, 2013, 07:15 AM
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 24

Hello All,

Just wanted to say a BIG THANK YOU to everyone that responded. Here is what I ended up purchasing:

Intel Core i5 4430
Seasonic M12II 620W
Fractal Design Define XL R2 Black Pearl
G.SKILL F3-12800CL10D-16GBXL Ripjaws X 16GB 2X8GB Kits
3 x Western Digital Red 3TB SATA3 64MB Cache (x 3)
Mushkin Chronos Deluxe 120GB 2.5in SATA3 SandForce SF-228
LG CH12LS28 12X Blu-Ray Reader & Lightscribe DVD Writer Combo Drive M-DISC
Reply With Quote

media , raid , raid controller , server , storage

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Media server HDD'S The Quicken Storage 9 September 12, 2012 10:09 AM
Building my 1st Server - Need Advice! deinosaur Networking 10 April 22, 2012 08:13 AM
Home Media Server Help PeterSmyth New Builds 6 February 12, 2012 04:37 PM
Building cheap server... Jello New Builds 13 October 7, 2008 10:03 PM
Building a file server kdub New Builds 10 September 27, 2008 11:04 AM