Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old May 23, 2013, 09:07 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,941

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lalji View Post
Yeah, I'm worried that the Atom won't be able to handle the load or might slow down. To be honest, I didn't think it supported all those things you mentioned such as HTTP, FTP, SQL, LDAP, VPN, etc .
I think the only issue would be if you need to transcode media. Otherwise the Atom should be fine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lalji View Post
Why do you say I'd be limited to 112MB/s?
That's the limit of Gigabit Ethernet.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old May 23, 2013, 09:39 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ontario
Posts: 39

My System Specs

Default

Why not go for something like an HP Proliant Microserver?

and if you can wait a month or 2 a Sandy Bridge Celeron/Pentium powered version is coming, end of June(ish).

Save yourself a boatload of cash, and space.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old May 23, 2013, 10:58 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,071

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lalji View Post
Yeah, that was probably my biggest concern. I just don't know what the requirements would be and what I should or should not get. Why do you say I'd be limited to 112MB/s?

Could you suggest lower priced alternatives?
I myself use:

i3-3220
P8H77-I
2x4GB of some sort of ram.
Either a 40GB X25-V or an 80GB X25-M (honestly can't remember )
LSI 9211-8i SAS HBA.
1 x 4TB, 7x3TB, 2x2TB.
450W Silverstone (which is way overkill, I've never seen the system use more than 150W).

I use Windows 8 w/ a Drive Bender storage pool. A storage pool works better in my situtation since I upgrade drives a lot. I don't want to have to start a new array whenever larger drives become available to me. I also use Windows 8 since it supports SMB mutipath, which allows the use of more than one NIC so in theory you can get 225MB/s w/ two NICs. Although both the server and clients would need to be running Windows 8 as well.

I would highly suggest looking at RAID cards from eBay or similar. You can generally find server pulls for 1/2 to 1/4 the price of a new card. I can't help you w/ models as I haven't done RAID5 in years.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old June 14, 2013, 08:15 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 24
Default

Hello All,

Just wanted to say a BIG THANK YOU to everyone that responded. Here is what I ended up purchasing:


Intel Core i5 4430
ASUS Z87-DELUXE ATX LGA1150
Seasonic M12II 620W
Fractal Design Define XL R2 Black Pearl
G.SKILL F3-12800CL10D-16GBXL Ripjaws X 16GB 2X8GB Kits
3 x Western Digital Red 3TB SATA3 64MB Cache (x 3)
Mushkin Chronos Deluxe 120GB 2.5in SATA3 SandForce SF-228
LG CH12LS28 12X Blu-Ray Reader & Lightscribe DVD Writer Combo Drive M-DISC
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
media , raid , raid controller , server , storage

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Media server HDD'S The Quicken Storage 9 September 12, 2012 11:09 AM
Building my 1st Server - Need Advice! deinosaur Networking 10 April 22, 2012 09:13 AM
Home Media Server Help PeterSmyth New Builds 6 February 12, 2012 04:37 PM
Building cheap server... Jello New Builds 13 October 7, 2008 11:03 PM
Building a file server kdub New Builds 10 September 27, 2008 12:04 PM