Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 31, 2013, 11:20 AM
Top Prospect

Default New AMD system, need some advice please.

I'm putting a new AMD system together for a friend. I am NO PRO at this but have built a few systems with great success in the past. That's the problem, the past was a while ago! I'm using a ASUS M5A97 R 2.0 board and a FX 6300 CPU (I think the cpu is overkill for a home non gaming system but this is what recommended by the sales guy and it was on sale). To save some money my friend wants to use his WIN XP 32 bit OS from his old computer. I'm almost ready to plug it in but am a bit confused about the instructions regarding AHCI. I'm not hookup my two 500 GB drives in a RAID configuration but the instructions are saying "For Windows XP OS, load the AMD AHCI 32/64 bit WinXP driver with a USB floppy disc drive during the OS installation. Refer to the section CREATING A RAID DRIVER DISC in your MB manual". The part where it says refer to you manual to create a raid disc almost answers my own question (AHCI is for a RAID or SSD setup) but I wanted to make sure.

If anybody can help me out on this I'd appreciate it.
Thanks
Jim
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro - Intel i7 860 - Zalman CNPS 10X Quiet - 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1333 CL7-7-7-21 1.5V - Intel 520 Series 240 GB SSD - WD Caviar Black 1Tb - Corsair TX750W - Sapphire Radeon HD 5770 1 Gb GDDR5 - DVD Drives X2 LG GH24LS50 - Coolermaster CM690 II Advanced - Win 7 Pro 64
Old March 31, 2013, 03:35 PM
Top Prospect

My System Specs

.... I REALLY don't recommend using XP 32bit on any modern system. ANY. It renders the system essentially crippled.

That said, if you are completely set in using it, the driver disk is needed because XP doesn't include drivers to access the drives in that configuration, and that's why you need the drivers at install time.