Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2013, 07:27 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4
Question Building my first PC

hay guys am planing on building a new PC , and am new at this
am going to buy the parts from Amazon.com usa
and going to use the PC for gaming and architectural visualization
my budget is about 1600-1800$
here's my list i hope they will work will together

motherboard :
MSI Z77 MPOWER -LGA1155

processor:
Intel Core i7-3770K
am going to overclock it to 4.2

Ram :
Corsair Vengeance Red 32GB (4x8GB) DDR3 1600 MHz

Cpu cooler:
Corsair Hydro Series Extreme Performance Liquid CPU Cooler H100i

Gpu :
MSI GTX 660 Ti Power Edition Graphics
or any other 660 ti

Sound Card:
Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D

HDD :
WD 1 TB sata2

SSD:
x2 Corsair Force GT 60 GB SATA III
i am going to set those 2 in raid0 and put my operation system on it

power supply:
NZXT Hale82 80 Plus Bronze ATX 750 Watt Modular Power Supply

case:
NZXT ca-ph410-b2 Phantom 410 Mid Tower

Just getting a basic optical drive


Any help or advice etc would appreciated
Thanks

Last edited by 7ntera; February 20, 2013 at 07:34 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2013, 08:51 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,085

My System Specs

Default

Parts look good from a gaming standpoint. If you are going Windows 7, Home Premium only sees up to 16GB.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2013, 08:54 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 700

My System Specs

Default

Yeah,all this is not perfect,it will work together but you can do better,for example: ill talk only if you are gaming...not editing or stuff but normal gaming.


32gb ram is overkill ,take 8.
3770k is also overkill for a GTX 660ti,take a 3570k or a bigger graphics card,you won't see a huge difference in gaming between a 3570k and a 3770k.

If you are gaming you will find it WAAAAAAAAAY better to have a 670 or 680 with a 3570k instead of a 660ti with a 3770k!


So take a cheaper motherboard,like a Z77X UD3H...

buy big SSD instead of 2x 60gb,it's better,only 2 cables,no raid,safer...maybe 250gb...but slower,yeah...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2013, 09:18 AM
clg clg is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 71
Default

If he's doing any sort of engineering which he said he is, a i7 and 16gb of ram will be useful.

How necessary is an h100 for mild overclocking?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2013, 10:19 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 700

My System Specs

Default

Yeah but it depends what, no need if its 3dsmax...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2013, 10:57 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4
Default

thank you all for replying to my thread
am going to use Revit architecture 2013 and lumion 3.0 for some really huge projects
as for games Battlefield 3 and maybe world of warcraft :)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2013, 11:12 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,924

My System Specs

Default

Overall it's good. As mentioned windows home is only good for 16gb ram, so more than that is useless unless you get pro. You could get a cheap air cooler for a mild OC. Get a single faster and larger ssd vice 2 small.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2013, 11:26 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4
Default

thank u so much i didn't know i needed to get windows pro
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2013, 11:34 AM
clg clg is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 71
Default

I did a little research for you. Revit recommends for larger projects 16gb of memory, and for lumion it actually suggests a gtx680. Of course that's for quite high performance, but considering the gap between the 660ti/680 and your budget I think it's be doable.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2013, 11:38 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,085

My System Specs

Default

I'd skip the sound card for now and put the money into a better GPU if it was me.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Building Another Rig....yay!!! rjbarker New Builds 43 March 5, 2011 09:10 PM
Building An i7-870 Rig... nashx New Builds 8 January 9, 2011 09:10 PM
Building a New PC kendrab New Builds 1 October 28, 2010 07:17 PM
Building Again fyshawk New Builds 0 May 9, 2010 06:00 PM
Building my first PC. Rolay New Builds 12 October 12, 2008 07:06 AM