Hardware Canucks

Hardware Canucks (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/)
-   New Builds (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/new-builds/)
-   -   Best WS for Adobe Creative Cloud (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/new-builds/59288-best-ws-adobe-creative-cloud.html)

botat29 January 22, 2013 10:12 AM

Best WS for Adobe Creative Cloud

I just subscribe to Adobe Creative Cloud, I'm very existed and I really enjoy it even if I'm new to this kind of stuff. I will of course work on website, create my own drawings but make few video too. I already purchase a ASUS P9X79 WS and a matching i7-3930K. It.s about my first experience with Adobe stuff and video editing; what will be the best arrangement for HD to fit with my needs, keep in mind that I intend to use an Intel 520 series as OS drives and the board I choose give the possibility to cache 2 mechanical drives with SSDs , So what will be the best arrangement of drives and witch will be a DAM good GPU, nothing, no games will be played in the Workstation.

Generic User #2 January 22, 2013 07:30 PM

you only need 3 drives: SSD Boot Drive, HDD video source drive, HDD video 'receive' drive. the rest are for storage. recommend 2TB HDDs with 'storage' speeds (think WD green performance) because that's an affordable size and is large enough to offer good performance.

some people say you need 100s of MBs of throughput on your drives, but I've never seen an actual video professional say this was the case. keeping in mind this is only a single CPU system.

botat29 January 23, 2013 06:45 AM

Thanks Generic, it make sense to have a hd for reading and one for writing the video, but I will never put a green on my PC, the video I plan to do will be mainly for youtube or my website, nothing to fancy, what about uusing 2 x 500 GB black for it and a 2 tb for storage ?

so here how it should look

C:\ 120 or 240 GB Intel SSD
D:\ WD 2TB Black cache with a 64 GB SSD ( I already have this one )
E:\ WD 500 GB Black
F:\ WD 500 GB Black