Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2013, 11:38 PM
OC-Guru's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: London, UK
Posts: 121

My System Specs

Default So... what next?

Hi guys

If you've seen my previous post, you'll know I built a 2013 AMD Gaming Rig which packs an 1100T, 16GB RAM and a Radeon HD 7850.

I was wondering.. I get paid on the 24th of this month and I was thinking about throwing some more money into this computer. I've got £400-500 to spend.

Things I've thought about buying:
- A better PSU
- 2 27inch ASUS Monitors
- Another Gigabyte HD7850
- A better mouse / keyboard

Specs I haven't listed in my rig:
I got a Antec Kuhler H20 920 and a Dell Perc5i RAID card with 2x Maxtor Atlas V 10k RPM 146GB HDDs attached in RAID 0

Here's my current desk setup incase any of you guys have any ideas for improvements:

(Sorry for the bad quality)
__________________
Gaming rig: UNDER CONSTRUCTION!
Wife's rig / D3 Bot PC: 2x Xeon E5335 @ 2Ghz (8C/8T) | 24GB DDR2 RAM | ASUS GTS 450 1GB | HP OEM Socket 771 Motherboard | 4x Seagate ST9900805SS RAID0
D3 BT - Crispe#2349 (EU) - add me! :)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2013, 12:18 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 56
Default

i would for go all that other junk, this image looks like you need to upgrade your dr.pepper bottle. its looking like its running low.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2013, 12:31 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,514

My System Specs

Default

Firstly, a widescreen monitor (it's 2013, man!).

Your 60GB Agility is in the same rig as the 10k drives in RAID 0? There's no reason to have 10k RAID 0 drives for storage, if that's what you're using them for. In fact, I don't think there's really any reason to have 10k drives in RAID 0 at all in 2013, unless you're benchmarking. I'd pick up a 120-240GB SSD for OS/games/apps and a regular HDD for storage.

Your mouse looks like it's ready to take off and abduct somebody.
__________________
For my part I know nothing with any certainty, but the sight of the stars makes me dream.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2013, 01:50 AM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,083

My System Specs

Default

I vote for a new monitor. Personally I like 23-24", but its your call. And a 240-260gb ssd.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950(unlocked shaders and OC'd), Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2013, 01:53 AM
OC-Guru's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: London, UK
Posts: 121

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by radish View Post
i would for go all that other junk, this image looks like you need to upgrade your dr.pepper bottle. its looking like its running low.
What other junk?
Also, about the Dr.Pepper bottle, it was full but is now empty.

Quote:
Originally Posted by YukonTrooper View Post
Firstly, a widescreen monitor (it's 2013, man!).

Your 60GB Agility is in the same rig as the 10k drives in RAID 0? There's no reason to have 10k RAID 0 drives for storage, if that's what you're using them for. In fact, I don't think there's really any reason to have 10k drives in RAID 0 at all in 2013, unless you're benchmarking. I'd pick up a 120-240GB SSD for OS/games/apps and a regular HDD for storage.

Your mouse looks like it's ready to take off and abduct somebody.
Yes, I use my 2x Atlas V 10k's for Game storage.. i run my games from these beasts, minimal lag, maximum throughput.. I have the Agility 3 as my OS/Application drive and I have a 1.3TB (3x500GB) File/WDS server that I use for storage (1Gbps LAN connected)

Haha, I've had a few comments on my Saitek GM-3200.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond007 View Post
I vote for a new monitor. Personally I like 23-24", but its your call. And a 240-260gb ssd.
I'm thinking of getting 2 27" ASUS LED 1080p monitors.. but I will also consider getting a 240GB SSD :)

Thanks for the positive feedback,
OC-Guru
__________________
Gaming rig: UNDER CONSTRUCTION!
Wife's rig / D3 Bot PC: 2x Xeon E5335 @ 2Ghz (8C/8T) | 24GB DDR2 RAM | ASUS GTS 450 1GB | HP OEM Socket 771 Motherboard | 4x Seagate ST9900805SS RAID0
D3 BT - Crispe#2349 (EU) - add me! :)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2013, 02:30 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is online now
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,348
Default

You have a nice setup. Congrats.
For improvements....
Drop the RAID'ed hdds and go for a PCI-E ssd. Biggest improvement to game load times you will find. Hell even a Sata SSD will kick the crap out of those Atlas hdds.
Get a bigger - and better - SSD for your OS.
Drop another GPU in their and make it fly for games. This is almost a requirement IF you plan on going for dual 27' monitors. ;)

And yeah that mouse would worry me....Id be afraid I would wake up one night with it looming over me...trying to probe me :P
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2013, 03:56 AM
OC-Guru's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: London, UK
Posts: 121

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AkG View Post
You have a nice setup. Congrats.
For improvements....
Drop the RAID'ed hdds and go for a PCI-E ssd. Biggest improvement to game load times you will find. Hell even a Sata SSD will kick the crap out of those Atlas hdds.
Get a bigger - and better - SSD for your OS.
Drop another GPU in their and make it fly for games. This is almost a requirement IF you plan on going for dual 27' monitors. ;)

And yeah that mouse would worry me....Id be afraid I would wake up one night with it looming over me...trying to probe me :P
Thanks for the feedback again mate :)

I will invest in a SATA SSD or a PCI-E SSD then, this will be something I buy next month due to my Atlas' providing more than enough throughput for the current games I play (Battlefield 3, GTA IV, Diablo 3, Far cry 3) I want to get the monitor/s in 1st, whether I buy one or two, I am not too sure yet.. I can afford 2, but my 7850 has DVI, HDMI, DP, DP.. which is rather annoying as the 27" uses DVI/VGA..

Well, with 2GB Vram, I should be set as I won't be running my games across both screens anyway..

So this is the order I will buy the stuff you guys recommend:
1 27" Monitor > next month > another monitor + SSD > month after > PSU / Another 7850

on a side note: Wouldn't my 1100T bottleneck my 2 7850's? because as it stands, I don't think I have a bottleneck.. and I would like to keep it that way

As for the mouse: I need it.. I have big hands lol
__________________
Gaming rig: UNDER CONSTRUCTION!
Wife's rig / D3 Bot PC: 2x Xeon E5335 @ 2Ghz (8C/8T) | 24GB DDR2 RAM | ASUS GTS 450 1GB | HP OEM Socket 771 Motherboard | 4x Seagate ST9900805SS RAID0
D3 BT - Crispe#2349 (EU) - add me! :)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2013, 05:22 AM
nasrott's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Newmarket, Ont.
Posts: 465

My System Specs

Default

mouse grab a rat7 albino there nice, I have a couple 27" asus monitors now running on 1-7970 though my onboard gpu on my cpu is running one of them. Have run both on the 7970 prior to this new cpu/board I just bought.

As far as your drives is just much neater to have a decent size ssd doing games, apps and OS. Then a single 2-3 tb drive for storage. I run 2 ocz ssd's in raid0. Your chipset on your rig don't play nice with raid on ssd and trim so...

Maybe consider a new card versus another 7850 prices been dropping on the 7970's, your monitors and a new mouse, possibly a big ssd as others mentioned, 240 or better idea.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2013, 06:23 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 511
Default

I would do it differently. Throw away your GF's GTs 450 and put the HD 7850 in there. get your self a HD 7970.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2013, 10:22 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,048

My System Specs

Default

Your system is definitely nice enough as is, the best performance increase at this point would be a SSD
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes