Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2013, 11:40 AM
OC-Guru's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: London, UK
Posts: 121

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nasrott View Post
mouse grab a rat7 albino there nice, I have a couple 27" asus monitors now running on 1-7970 though my onboard gpu on my cpu is running one of them. Have run both on the 7970 prior to this new cpu/board I just bought.

As far as your drives is just much neater to have a decent size ssd doing games, apps and OS. Then a single 2-3 tb drive for storage. I run 2 ocz ssd's in raid0. Your chipset on your rig don't play nice with raid on ssd and trim so...

Maybe consider a new card versus another 7850 prices been dropping on the 7970's, your monitors and a new mouse, possibly a big ssd as others mentioned, 240 or better idea.
I've looked at the rat 7 and .. meh :| it looks like a broken mouse to me lol

I will look into getting an big SSD.. although my PC is currently booting up in under 9 seconds from the BIOS (2min+ if you count the RAID card initialization)

I hear my chipset is fine for SSDs and PCI-E SSDs lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luay79 View Post
I would do it differently. Throw away your GF's GTs 450 and put the HD 7850 in there. get your self a HD 7970.
never throwing my GTS 450, that thing has lasted me forever :D putting a 7850 in my GFs rig would be COMPLETE overkill lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perineum View Post
Your system is definitely nice enough as is, the best performance increase at this point would be a SSD
Thanks,

i currently have an Agility 3 SSD :)
__________________
Gaming rig: UNDER CONSTRUCTION!
Wife's rig / D3 Bot PC: 2x Xeon E5335 @ 2Ghz (8C/8T) | 24GB DDR2 RAM | ASUS GTS 450 1GB | HP OEM Socket 771 Motherboard | 4x Seagate ST9900805SS RAID0
D3 BT - Crispe#2349 (EU) - add me! :)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2013, 02:14 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Belgium
Posts: 16

My System Specs

Default

Go for BenQ XL Series.
__________________
http://www.speedtest.net/result/2398451893.png

Setup: Intel Core i7-3970 Extreme - Nvidia GeForce GTX 690 - Thortech Thunderbolt 1000W - Thermaltake Level 10 GT Snow Edition - Asus P9X79 - RAM: 16GB DDR3-2166 Mhz - HDD: 2T - SSD: 120GB ForceGT
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2013, 05:10 AM
OC-Guru's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: London, UK
Posts: 121

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jachin View Post
Go for BenQ XL Series.
Aren't the ASUS monitors higher quality?
__________________
Gaming rig: UNDER CONSTRUCTION!
Wife's rig / D3 Bot PC: 2x Xeon E5335 @ 2Ghz (8C/8T) | 24GB DDR2 RAM | ASUS GTS 450 1GB | HP OEM Socket 771 Motherboard | 4x Seagate ST9900805SS RAID0
D3 BT - Crispe#2349 (EU) - add me! :)
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2013, 10:19 PM
OC-Guru's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: London, UK
Posts: 121

My System Specs

Default

Bought this! Asus VE276N 27" Monitor DVI Full HD Monitor - Scan.co.uk
__________________
Gaming rig: UNDER CONSTRUCTION!
Wife's rig / D3 Bot PC: 2x Xeon E5335 @ 2Ghz (8C/8T) | 24GB DDR2 RAM | ASUS GTS 450 1GB | HP OEM Socket 771 Motherboard | 4x Seagate ST9900805SS RAID0
D3 BT - Crispe#2349 (EU) - add me! :)
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2013, 02:06 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,679

My System Specs

Default

Sell the 7850 and get a 7970? Though with 1 monitor at 1080 in games you should be fine running a single 7850.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2013, 03:23 AM
OC-Guru's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: London, UK
Posts: 121

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dzzope View Post
Sell the 7850 and get a 7970? Though with 1 monitor at 1080 in games you should be fine running a single 7850.
So what you think of that 27" Asus monitor?

I think it'd be a blinder.. the only down side is that its a TN panel .. which means from a side view you won't be able to see the screen clearly, but i dont really care about that.
__________________
Gaming rig: UNDER CONSTRUCTION!
Wife's rig / D3 Bot PC: 2x Xeon E5335 @ 2Ghz (8C/8T) | 24GB DDR2 RAM | ASUS GTS 450 1GB | HP OEM Socket 771 Motherboard | 4x Seagate ST9900805SS RAID0
D3 BT - Crispe#2349 (EU) - add me! :)
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2013, 05:27 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,679

My System Specs

Default

Grab the cheapest one you can get.. from what I've seen there is very little difference between most TN panels unless they are particularly bad / good (usually priced at very low end IPS levels so not really worth it).

27" at 1080 is not something I would consider, it just makes everything too big outside of movies, games etc. It should be good for gaming as it's much easier to hit a bigger target.

Biggest thing I look for when Buying a new monitor is a dead pixel guarantee (0 dead/stuck/faulty pixels)
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2013, 07:41 AM
OC-Guru's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: London, UK
Posts: 121

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dzzope View Post
Grab the cheapest one you can get.. from what I've seen there is very little difference between most TN panels unless they are particularly bad / good (usually priced at very low end IPS levels so not really worth it).

27" at 1080 is not something I would consider, it just makes everything too big outside of movies, games etc. It should be good for gaming as it's much easier to hit a bigger target.

Biggest thing I look for when Buying a new monitor is a dead pixel guarantee (0 dead/stuck/faulty pixels)
For 210, this monitor should be awesome.. a big nice 27" for playing games / watching films from the bed.. sounds all good to me, I'd force a higher resolution from the display if i knew the panel could do a higher resolution. thanks.
__________________
Gaming rig: UNDER CONSTRUCTION!
Wife's rig / D3 Bot PC: 2x Xeon E5335 @ 2Ghz (8C/8T) | 24GB DDR2 RAM | ASUS GTS 450 1GB | HP OEM Socket 771 Motherboard | 4x Seagate ST9900805SS RAID0
D3 BT - Crispe#2349 (EU) - add me! :)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes