Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2013, 11:18 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Saskatoon
Posts: 162
Default

I think that either board/chipset will be great for a NAS, it just depends on what you want to do later on. If you think that you may want to build a new gaming rig soon, then you may want to consider buying an H77 board for this build, as it offers a lower price, and won't be overclocked.
Or, you could use the board that you have on hand, and wait until Haswell is released, which will require a new board anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2013, 12:38 PM
tangrisser's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Metro Vancouver
Posts: 163
Default

Z77 won't offer much more than H77 can if you are putting it into a NAS. If you have motherboards with both then I would recommend H77 and keep the Z77 for another build.
__________________
Check out my SALE page
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2013, 09:40 PM
dustin1706's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 656

My System Specs

Default

For a WHS there is no appreciable difference between Z77 and H77. I went a little overboard with a 3450, Z77 board and hardware raid, but it works well.

If I was going to do anything different with my system I would have gone for a board with thunderbolt and/or I may have gone with an Matx so I could have 2+ pcie slots. Mitx looks baller sitting on my tv stand, but matx would have let me run a 4 port NIC in my second slot. I get around 110 mbps transfers (~6.25 GB/min) which is pretty much max for my HDDs, but HDDs are getting faster and it makes running RAID 1,5 or 6 pointless if you only have gigabit.
__________________
MSI GT72 6QE-033US - 6700HQ, GTX980M, 16GB DDR4, 256GB SSD, 1TB SSD, 2TB HDD
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2013, 10:08 PM
Mena's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Hanover, Ontario
Posts: 483
Default

H77 has more sata ports on the asus. No need for an overpriced raid card then.
__________________
I am watching you.

For me, insanity is super sanity. The normal is psychotic. Normal means lack of imagination, lack of creativity.

When a ladder was stolen from a store the manager said that further steps would be taken
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2013, 05:24 PM
Mena's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Hanover, Ontario
Posts: 483
Default

Decided to forego the 2TB reds and grab a 3TB red for now. Will expand as needed.
__________________
I am watching you.

For me, insanity is super sanity. The normal is psychotic. Normal means lack of imagination, lack of creativity.

When a ladder was stolen from a store the manager said that further steps would be taken
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2013, 07:48 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 58
Default

for me a nas is much better for one basic reason, the power draw of a server might be 300-400 sometimes higher depending on your components. a decent NAS such as my netgear nv+ and the 2nd version nv+ v2 usually draw about 30-65w. which is phenomenal in my opinion. and when you dont use the nas it pretty much shuts down. reducing power draw to a min.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2013, 09:52 AM
Mena's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Hanover, Ontario
Posts: 483
Default

Point taken. However if you research the parts very carefully and plan ahead you can get a server to do the same power draw.
__________________
I am watching you.

For me, insanity is super sanity. The normal is psychotic. Normal means lack of imagination, lack of creativity.

When a ladder was stolen from a store the manager said that further steps would be taken
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2013, 12:24 PM
dustin1706's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 656

My System Specs

Default

With my server listed below I am drawing 35w at idle as measured by a kill-a-watt. A haswell system should be even lower.
__________________
MSI GT72 6QE-033US - 6700HQ, GTX980M, 16GB DDR4, 256GB SSD, 1TB SSD, 2TB HDD
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2013, 08:21 PM
Mena's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Hanover, Ontario
Posts: 483
Default

How much on load? ( I see that you have WHS2011 so I am guesing on load would be during a PC Backup...I dunno )
__________________
I am watching you.

For me, insanity is super sanity. The normal is psychotic. Normal means lack of imagination, lack of creativity.

When a ladder was stolen from a store the manager said that further steps would be taken
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2013, 12:02 AM
dustin1706's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 656

My System Specs

Default

Just dug out my meter and gave it a try. I had it backing up to one array and I simultaneously wrote files to the other array. Sat at 47 watts.
__________________
MSI GT72 6QE-033US - 6700HQ, GTX980M, 16GB DDR4, 256GB SSD, 1TB SSD, 2TB HDD
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
home server peekeesh New Builds 8 December 26, 2012 12:32 PM
WIP Home File Server - Modding Rack mount Server Chassis CoolHandL Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 24 December 22, 2010 12:37 PM
Anyone is using Home Server dataxpert O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 April 30, 2009 03:53 PM
Home Server trainguy New Builds 8 October 5, 2008 05:16 PM
Home Server Phobia O/S's, Drivers & General Software 19 September 28, 2008 08:22 AM