Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2013, 08:08 AM
concinnity's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Washington D.C.
Posts: 132

My System Specs

Default

SSD's have such a low failure rate that you could afford to put them in a RAID 0, effectively doubling the capacity.
__________________
Getting information off the Internet is like taking a drink from a fire hydrant.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2013, 02:09 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 34

My System Specs

Default

Looks good, Not sure if you need that big of a power supply, but it can't hurt, it'll always leave you PLENTY of room for upgrades, haha!

Good luck with the build, I hope all goes well with it!

If you have any questions or would like my advice/opinion on something feel free to ask in a reply or PM me!
~Ryan
__________________
"what's that black fan at the back of the case for? I never see it on."
"Well it's REALLY loud, but it's 5500 RPM and moves a TON of air."
"Why do you have it though?"
"Well... It's the "Oh s**t!" fan."
"What do you mean?"
"Well what do you say when your graphics card hits 90c?"
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2013, 07:39 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Saskatoon
Posts: 162
Default

The GTX 680 is indeed an excellent video card for gaming, however CS6 no longer uses CUDA instead relying on OpenCL and their Mercury Graphics Engine. From a workstation perspective, an AMD HD 7970 has much better GPU compute performance over the GTX 680, and is pretty much equal in gaming as well as being officially supported by Adobe. As for Nvidia, Adobe recommends the GTX 5xx series for Photoshop.
Are you planning to create any of the RAID arrays using a hardware RAID controller? Highly recommended for RAID 5. Otherwise perhaps buying larger SSD's, using a 256 GB (or 512 GB) for OS and apps, another equal sized drive for storage, and a larger hard disk for back-ups and drive images. That way you will be able to use the integrated SATA 3 (6Gbps) interface of the x79 chipset, and still maintain TRIM, and fast enough speeds.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A photographer's PC ad5ter New Builds 2 August 30, 2011 09:54 AM
[FS] AMD 3200+ 939 *Venice* CPU Koslov Buy/Sell & Trade 1 August 22, 2010 12:25 AM
I'm a photographer with nothing to photograph muse108dc Off Topic 28 April 14, 2010 05:55 AM
FS : 7900 GT oc BFG, 3200 +, A8n SLi 939 matsta31 Buy/Sell & Trade 15 July 20, 2008 04:01 PM
Quad Core Q9300 PC 8800GT 3GB RAM, 750GB HD, Antec designer rom0n Buy/Sell & Trade 6 June 26, 2008 11:58 AM