Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2012, 05:04 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default $500-$600 Upgrade build

My friend is upgrading his PC and has a decent budget, so I'm going to help him out and show him how to build it

1. What YOUR PC will be used for. That means what types of tasks you'll be performing.
ARMA 2, DayZ Standalone, Borderlands 2, web surfing, media play back & photo editing

2. What YOUR budget is. A price range is acceptable as long as it's not more than a 20% spread
$500-600 including taxes and shipping if required.

3. What country YOU will be buying YOUR parts from.
Canada

4. IF YOU have a brand preference.
No brand preference

5. If YOU intend on using any of YOUR current parts, and if so, what those parts are.
Optical drive, CPU (Q8200) maybe board (OEM acer board)

6. IF YOU have searched and/or read similar threads.
yes

7. IF YOU plan on overclocking or run the system at default speeds.
Planning on overclocking if budget can include new board
8. WHEN do you plan to build it?
within the next 2 weeks

9. What resolution and settings do you use?
720P

10. Are there any specific technologies you want?
SSD
Decent case
Possibly video cards with game bundles.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2012, 11:39 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 645

My System Specs

Default

Sadly, the motherboard and CPU are too dated to reuse.

Your budget is low, and you're gaming at 720p (which is low by enthusiast standards), so I would recommend going the AMD route.

Here is a build centered around the FM2 processor and the A85 chipset:

Gigabyte F2A85XM-D3H: motherboard: 94.99
Gigabyte F2A85XM-D3H w/ DDR3 1866, 7.1 Audio, Gigabit LAN, VGA, DVI-D, HDMI at Memory Express
A10-5800K APU: Processor: 124.99
AMD A10-5800K APU, Black Edition 3.8GHz w/ 4MB Cache at Memory Express
Gskill 1866 8 gig cas 9 kit: memory : 49.99
G.SKILL Sniper Series 8GB PC3-14900 Dual Channel Kit (2 x 4GB) at Memory Express
500GB WD Caviar Blue: Main Storage Drive: 64.99
WD 500GB Caviar Blue 7200rpm SATA III w/ 16MB Cache at Memory Express
Intel SSD 520 Series SATA III Solid State Drive, 60GB: 89.99
Intel SSD 520 Series SATA III Solid State Drive, 60GB at Memory Express
Corsair Carbide Series 200R Compact ATX Case: 64.99
Corsair Carbide Series 200R Compact ATX Case, Black at Memory Express
Corsair CX500 500W Power Supply: 54.99 (Cheapest corsair PSU with 2xpcie connectors for upgrades).
Corsair Builder Series CX500 500W Power Supply at Memory Express

544.93 Total at Memory Express.

Won't slay the top games, but you'll have a good gaming experience with all 720p gaming at reasonable settings. It also has the potential to upgrade to a much more powerful video card as the PSU has the two PCIE connectors needed to power beast cards.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2012, 04:24 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

the CPU is fine for his needs, he isn't expecting to max every game out there he just wants to run it over 30fps on medium-high settings.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2012, 04:27 PM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,322

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supaflyx3 View Post
the CPU is fine for his needs, he isn't expecting to max every game out there he just wants to run it over 30fps on medium-high settings.
Delete some PM's so I can argue with how wrong you are about everything on here in private :P JK your inbox is full and I cannot assist you with your RMA without somewhere to pm
__________________
Follow us on facebook at https://www.facebook.com/realhardwarereviews?ref=hl
Site and Forum online
http://forums.realhardwarereviews.com/index.php
Contests will be done on there from now on :)
http://realhardwarereviews.com/
Always up for a Beer in Calgary or Area

“Two possibilities exist: either we are alone in the Universe or we are not. Both are equally terrifying.”
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2012, 05:48 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 645

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supaflyx3 View Post
the CPU is fine for his needs, he isn't expecting to max every game out there he just wants to run it over 30fps on medium-high settings.
The problem that I forsee is that many of the socket 775 mobos are not ddr3 and thus you cannot get cheap 8 gigs of memory.

Also you said you want SSD. SSD kinda sucks without sata 6GB. That motherboard might not even have sata 2 ports being so old.

Also, acer motherboards aren't exactly top of the line, and socket 775 is old. Your capacitors run the risk of blowing out after so many years of use.

Upping to a brand new system is my best suggestion, and if you don't like the amd APU, you probably can configure an i3 system just as cheap with a budget video card.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2012, 06:35 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

His motherboard is DDR3, I've run SSDs on sata2 and they were fine and snappy, thanks for the suggestions though.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2012, 07:56 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,592
Default

720p doesn't exist afaik on desktop only laptops. you either play in a 16:10 resolution or 1080
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2012, 09:36 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

1366x768.. that's 720p.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2012, 09:40 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,592
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supaflyx3 View Post
1366x768.. that's 720p.
and what monitor is going to display that natively?

even a 21.5 monitor is still 1080. you would again need a lcd type panel.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2012, 11:14 PM
dustin1706's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 629

My System Specs

Default

The Q8400 is a bit outdated at this point, but for casual gaming and basic use it will work. I still have a Q6600 running in my spare rig and I haven't run into any problems with it. And, he can always upgrade to like an i5 3300 and sub $100 mobo later if he needs more performance, sata 3 or usb3. Assuming he has peripherals, monitor and an os?


If it were me and keeping it to $600 I wouldn't be dead set on the exact components I'd shop the sales and pricematch what I can, but it might look something like this:


Prices from NCIX 30-Dec-2012

Kingston KHX1600C9D3B1K2/8GX 8GB Kit 2X4GB 1600......36.99
Antec Basiq VP450 450W Power Supply........................44.99
Samsung 840 Series 120GB........................................118.9 9
Corsair Vengeance Series C70....................................89.99 (or HAF912, P280 , carbide 200 or whatever he likes for ~100)
MSI Radeon HD 7870 OC Twin Frozr III........................199.99
Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB.................................69.99

=$561

Plus shipping and maybe he wants a few fans or lights.

I don't see any good card/game bundles right now. Too bad because I bought a 650 a month ago for $99.99 and it came with Nexusz, Shogun 2, Dirt showdown and Assassin's creed 3.
__________________
Rig1 in "My System Specs"
Rig2: Q6600, P5DN-D, GTX650, 4GB HyperX, LG BD drive, TT armor case, ek supreme HF, 655 pump, XP
Dell XPS17 - i7 2820QM, 8GB ram, 1920x1080, BluRay, GT555m 3GB, 240gb Neutron GTX, 640GB Seagate, Win7 64
Server - i5 3450, Asus P8Z77-I Deluxe, 4GB DDR3, LSI MegaRAID 9240-8I, OCZ Vertex 4 120GB, 2x SG Barracuda 3TB(RAID1), 2x WD green 2TB(RAID1), Fractal Design Array R2, WHS 2011
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade Build OhSlowpoke New Builds 16 January 18, 2012 01:19 PM
NEW BUILD vs. UPGRADE HOTDOGS New Builds 15 November 30, 2011 09:27 AM
Advice on new build/upgrade KonstigtSjael New Builds 4 February 1, 2011 01:30 AM
upgrade/new build timidestemu New Builds 9 January 28, 2011 07:29 AM
Upgrade.... or new build? belinik New Builds 7 September 9, 2010 05:33 AM