Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2012, 11:09 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default I7 2011 Socket

I just want it sooooo bad.....just because!!!!

Asus Rampage IV Formula w I7 3930K......

I guess because its been so long since building my current I7 Rig ;)
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2012, 11:59 PM
Rollergold's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Calgary
Posts: 121

My System Specs

Default

Deliciously overkill hope ya got some red or black video cards to go with it
__________________

Asus P6X58-E WS | i7 920 D0 @ 4.01ghz W/ Apogee HD Block | 24gb (3x 8gb) Corsair Vengeance 1600 | 2x EVGA GTX 680 SC's in SLI W/ XSPC Razor Blocks |
4x 1tb WD Black Drives | SB Recon 3D PCIe | Swiftech MP655-SE Pump | Swiftech Maelstrom Res | CM HAF 932 | Corsair HX 850 (3 yr's old) | Asus VH236H + PA238QR

Last edited by Rollergold; December 24, 2012 at 12:05 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2012, 12:06 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 644

My System Specs

Default

Overkill depending on what you're doing.

I don't think you could do 1080p 60fps x264 encoding to stream on a single hex core.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 26, 2012, 07:24 PM
Black_Ice-Dragon's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Alberta EH!
Posts: 42

My System Specs

Default

Oh I was just in the same boat but I just cannot justify the price of Socket 2011. Should just do a nice 3770K setup. Then do a 3way sli gtx 670 just because lol
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 26, 2012, 08:29 PM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,764

My System Specs

Default

I was in the same boat, eyeing up a 2011 rig. I have a 3770k and Asus Sabertooth on the way now, just made so much more sense price/performance wise.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 26, 2012, 08:30 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

^^^^ Or 2011 RIV n 3930K @ 4.6 Ghz with Tri Sli 670 / or 680's ........ ;) ......soon.....
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 26, 2012, 09:21 PM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,566

My System Specs

Default

t'would be sweet. But I am going the 3770k/Sabertooth road as well. Just for gaming and net surfing really.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 26, 2012, 09:28 PM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

I've recently offloaded my 3770k gear and plan on getting together a 2011 system. Looking at maybe the asus rampage IV Gene for the 16 thread E5 xeon that is sitting on my desk. Just waiting for a good price on a mobo before I pull the trigger. Gonna be an all purpose SFF rig: XBMC box, folding, a bit of gaming once in a while. It'll be sweet me thinks. Gonna go in a SG09 case.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 26, 2012, 10:10 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 644

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dandelioneater View Post
'16 thread E5 xeon that is sitting on my desk..
O_o 16 thread single chip.

I wouldn't mind seeing how that does with encoding. I'd like to get a rig that can handle capture + encoding without a capture card. Even at 5.3ghz my 2600k can't keep up with 720p 60fps high quality.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 26, 2012, 11:47 PM
dustin1706's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 631

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, I am running a 3930k on an R4E and it is waaaay overkill for anything I do with it. Running games at ultra it sees around 20% usage MAX. I just hope that Intel has something new for me to upgrade to when the Corsair 900D is available even though I'm sure this machine would see me through another 3+ years.
__________________
Rig1 in "My System Specs"
Rig2: Q6600, P5DN-D, GTX650, 4GB HyperX, LG BD drive, TT armor case, ek supreme HF, 655 pump, XP
Dell XPS17 - i7 2820QM, 8GB ram, 1920x1080, BluRay, GT555m 3GB, 240gb Neutron GTX, 640GB Seagate, Win7 64
Server - i5 3450, Asus P8Z77-I Deluxe, 4GB DDR3, LSI MegaRAID 9240-8I, OCZ Vertex 4 120GB, 2x SG Barracuda 3TB(RAID1), 2x WD green 2TB(RAID1), Fractal Design Array R2, WHS 2011
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] Socket 2011 ASUS p9x79 i7 3820 SOLD kirbster Buy/Sell & Trade 2 November 23, 2012 08:03 PM
socket 2011 xeons ?????? gingerbee Off Topic 2 April 27, 2012 08:11 PM
Socket 2011 lastsplash Water Cooling 8 October 13, 2011 06:11 PM
Should I wait for Socket 2011 or Bulldozer? Zak_M CPU's and Motherboards 29 July 3, 2011 12:04 AM