Hardware Canucks

Hardware Canucks (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/)
-   New Builds (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/new-builds/)
-   -   Need advice on new PC purchase. (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/new-builds/58474-need-advice-new-pc-purchase.html)

FMS20 December 11, 2012 10:00 AM

Need advice on new PC purchase.

Hello everyone,

I am planning on buying a custom built PC from ncix.ca. I have made a few customizations to one of the PC's that they offer and I would love some feedback as this is my first time buying a PC. I plan to use this for gaming and HD video editing. I will list the parts of the default build and then the changes I have made. Any suggestions or tips would be greatly appreciated.

Vesta i7 5800 SLI
Intel Core i7 3770K Processor - changed to i5 3570k (I did this to cut cost and I heard the i7 is not necessary)
Corsair H100 Liquid Cooling - changed to H60 (I read somewhere that the H100 doesnt fit will in the antec 1200 also I don't plan on overclocking anytime soon)
Corsair Vengeance C70 case - changed to antec 1200 case (I don't like the look of the C70)
8GB Corsair Dominator Platinum RAM - no change
ASUS GTX 680 DirectCU II Graphics - changed to 670 (to cut cost)
120GB Corsair Neutron GTX SSD - no change
2TB Seagate 7200RPM Storage Drive - no change
24x ASUS DVD/CD Writer - no change
750W Corsair HX Series PSU - no change

Thank you kindly

dandelioneater December 11, 2012 10:09 AM

I think that the changes you have selected are good. It will give you a bit more bang for your buck without really changing the performance of the system. The ssd is a good one, 670 and 3570K are a great combination for gaming. What's the price of the vesta system? You should consider buying the parts yourself on their site and then select the option for NCIX to assemble the system (50 bucks i think). It may save you a buck or two for basically the same thing.

moocow December 11, 2012 10:31 AM