Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2012, 05:27 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 43
Default Looking for help on Ram and Power.

Already Got Three Things together:

Gigabyte 990FXA-Ud3 Motherboard

XFX Hd7870 core ed. single fan

Cpu a FX-6100 bulldozer AMD

Looking at what Kind of Power Unit I will need and Computer Case to fit it all
Got this in mind for Case
Antec Eleven Hundred Performance Gaming Case XL-ATX 3X5.25 2X2.5 6X3.5IN 2XUSB3 INT No PSU

Dont really want to Use Water Cooled Components Because Computer will be Out in the Shack out side my house (mind you its not Heated during the nights so its as cold as outside and my Winters get Minus -15 on a average day, at nights -20 to -30) Looked at the Manual(motherboard) and it says it could still Run in -40 so if doesn't they were Talking out their ass(gigabyte).
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2012, 06:32 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 22
Default

About the pc being exposed to those temps... Bro condensation could be an issue (Where I live I don't even see snow... so I wouldn't know (Mind you i'm not Canadian xD haha).

About Power: XFX specs say 500w minimum and 650w recommended... If you are not planing on running 2 cards... I wouldn't buy over 750w (If you are buying a GOOD BRAND PSU)... As for a brand many have favorites but I would go XFX, Corsair (Not Builder series... heard bad things...), Seasonic...

About the ram, I wouldnt get more than 8gb if you are only gaming... and you cant go wrong with Corsair vengeance 1600, Gskill is also good...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2012, 07:56 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,946
Default

need to use Dielectric grease on cpu socket

and keep computer powerd to keep condensation to a min
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2012, 08:09 PM
BeaverBender's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Montreal
Posts: 260

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, those mobos are not designed to military spec so unless you have a completely sealed environment, you will likely being running into condensation issues. These things weren't made for Canadian winters in a teepee.
__________________
Creationists make it sound like a ‘theory’ is something you dreamt up after being drunk all night — Isaac Asimov
All thinking men are atheists — Ernest Hemingway
Faith means not wanting to know what is true — Friedrich Nietzsche


Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2012, 08:37 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 43
Default

Also don't think Flat screen monitors will even turn on in -10. I have a old XP desktop in the shack right now THe old Tube Monitor is havin trouble turning on. So that's scrapped.

Still looking for PSU thinking XFX and probably will upgrade to Cross Fire in the future.

Ordered the Case Antec Eleven Hundred Performance Gaming Case
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 20, 2012, 03:53 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,517

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BeaverBender View Post
Canadian winters in a teepee.

The teepee is characteristic for the Great Plains. Canadian winters were braved in the longhouses like in this picture, taken in the Wendat (Huron) village in Quebec City (Ancienne Lorette).
Attached Images
 
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 20, 2012, 07:18 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,915

My System Specs

Default

Quality 500w is enough if you will run stock clocks, but I would go for 600-650w if you will overclock.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 20, 2012, 02:39 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 43
Default

Corsair Enthusiast Series TX750M 750W ATX Modular Power Supply Active PFC 120mm

Gigabyte 990FXA-Ud3 Motherboard

XFX Hd7870 core ed. single fan

Cpu a FX-6100 bulldozer AMD

WIll this power supply work with what i have? Want to get Modular type.

And also thinking about Hard drives want to know which brand is Quality and cheap?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 20, 2012, 04:23 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,517

My System Specs

Default

oh yeah no issues for the PSU
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 20, 2012, 05:10 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,915

My System Specs

Default

Great PSU. Will easily handle your computer.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power supply surges detected during the previous power on. Asus Anti-Surge was trigge Varroa Power Supplies 7 December 18, 2012 05:50 AM
[WTB] Low power sandy processor(i3), low power PSU(300-400w) and Sata DVD reader Evochuck Buy/Sell & Trade 0 July 30, 2012 07:49 PM
OCZ Technology Unveils the PC Power & Cooling Silencer Mk III Power Supply Series Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 8 November 9, 2011 07:48 PM